MUSICAL CHAIRS: big names on the move in WorldSSP as 2024 grid gets shaken up

Monday, 20 November 2023 09:16 GMT

The WorldSSP grid is set for a huge shake-up in 2024 with lots of changes already announced, with big names on the move…

The FIM Supersport World Championship grid for 2024 is starting to take shape with riders already beginning to know their future. There will be changes up and down the grid as teams search for the best riders for their project, and riders look for the best team to fight for the title with. With Champion Nicolo Bulega moving to WorldSBK for 2024, there’s been a lot of shuffling up and down the grid. Last update: December 1st.

FRONT RUNNERS STAY IN PLACE: some continuity on the WorldSSP grid

The Barni Spark Racing Team announced that Yari Montella would stay for a second campaign after an impressive first season on the Panigale V2 with the #55 scoring five podiums this year. It’ll be the one-time race winner’s third full campaign in WorldSSP, and he’ll be looking to return to the top step of the rostrum; his first win was at Phillip Island in 2022. Despite an injury-hit campaign, Kawasaki Puccetti Racing tied down Can Oncu for 2024 and this was one of the first announcements to be made in a busy October period for the Championship. Oncu is a race winner, taking victory at Mandalika this year, but missed a substantial part of the season through injury, although he did return to the rostrum at Jerez with a remarkable performance.

German rookie Marcel Schroetter (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) has impressed this season and became a consistent podium contender from the off. Although it was teammate Bahattin Sofuoglu who took the team’s only win so far (prior to the Spanish Round), Schroetter earned himself a renewal as he claimed third in the standings with a round to spare. At Ten Kate Racing Yamaha, Stefano Manzi has renewed with the Dutch outfit for 2024 while becoming a Yamaha Motor Europe contracted rider as he looks to go one better next year. Manzi will be partnered by Dutch rider Glenn van Straalen as he joins the team for 2024.

CHANGES AT THE CHAMPIONS: Huertas switches manufacturers, Tuuli too

With Nicolo Bulega moving to WorldSBK for 2024, it was announced that Adrian Huertas would take Bulega’s seat for 2024 as he switches from Kawasaki to Ducati machinery. Niki Tuuli’s move from PTR Triumph to the EAB Racing Team was announced, with the team swapping to Ducati machinery for 2024. The Finn has plenty of experience to bring to his new team for 2024, with two wins and 10 podiums under his belt already. The Bologna-based manufacturer will be the #66’s fifth brand he has raced for in his WorldSSP career. Luke Power will stay with ME AIR Motozoo Racing, whilst Federico Caricasulo readies to join him. VIAMO Racing (formerly MTM Kawasaki), Swiss rider Marcel Brenner will return to WorldSSP with the team as he takes the place of Huertas. Elsewhere, PTR Triumph Racing have announced that Czech rider Ondrej Vostatek will stay with the team and be joined by reigning WorldSSP Challenge winner Tom Booth-Amos. Lucas Mahias returns to WorldSSP in 2024 with the GMT94 Yamaha team as they both look for a return to winning ways.

NEW FACES: rookies set to take WorldSSP by storm

ProDina Kawasaki Racing have outlined their intention to bring in Gabriele Giannini for the 2024 WorldSSP Challenge after he made his debut at Jerez with the team, with the Italian set to compete in the European rounds in 2024. At the PETRONAS MIE Racing Honda Team, 2023 riders Tarran Mackenzie and Adam Norrodin secured a promotion to WorldSBK, with Moto3™ race winners Kaito Toba and Khairul Idham Pawi replacing them in WorldSSP. As for other teams, Althea Racing won’t continue with Federico Caricasulo and instead bring in Moto3™ Grand Prix winner Niccolo Antonelli, alongside Piotr Biesierkirski as the team hope to expand to two riders. Plans have been announced to have more Triumphs on the grid in 2024, with WorldSSP300 frontrunners RT Motorsports by SKM hoping to team up with WRP Racing next year and field Jorge Navarro and John McPhee, with both securing podiums in their rookie seasons in 2023. Also set to step up to WorldSSP is the Renzi Corse Team with Ducati and Grand Prix winner Simone Corsi, who featured in six races in 2023 with five points-scoring finishes and a best of sixth at Misano.

Announced riders so far: Racing WorldSSP Team: Adrian Huertas

Barni Spark Racing Team: Yari Montella

Kawasaki Puccetti Racing: Can Oncu

MV Agusta Reparto Corse: Marcel Schroetter

Ten Kate Racing Yamaha: Stefano Manzi and Glenn van Straalen

EAB Racing Team: Niki Tuuli

Althea Racing Team: Niccolo Antonelli and Piotr Biesierkirski

ProDina Kawasaki Racing: Gabriele Giannini

VIAMO Racing: Marcel Brenner

PTR Triumph: Tom Booth-Amos and Ondrej Vostatek

PETRONIAS MIE Racing Honda Team: Kaito Toba and Khairul Idham Pawi

GMT94 Yamaha: Lucas Mahias

Motozoo ME AIR Racing: Luke Power and Federico Caricasulo

WRP Racing - RT Motorsports by SKM – Triumph: Jorge Navarro and John McPhee

Renzi Corse Team - Ducati: Simone Corsi

Keep up to date with all the off-season news and tests using the WorldSBK VideoPass!