Locatelli claims third consecutive pole position in WorldSSP

Saturday, 8 August 2020 11:22 GMT

Italian rookie continues his incredible run of form with a dominant pole position in Portimao

FIM Supersport World Championship may have moved to a different circuit with the Motul Portuguese Round but the result from Tissot Superpole was remarkably similar to the two previous rounds for the season. Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) claimed a dominant pole position as he secured his third consecutive pole position.

The Italian rookie, making only his third WorldSSP Superpole appearance, lapped the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve circuit in 1’44.627 to claim pole position by nearly three tenths ahead of second-placed Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha). Locatelli’s third pole position means he has equalled 2019 Champion Randy Krummenacher’s streak of consecutive poles, set in his Championship year. Joining Locatelli and Cluzel on the front row is Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha).

Spanish rider Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) will join Perolari on the second row as the Spanish rider continues to impress in WorldSSP after securing a fourth-place grid start, ahead of Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) will start fifth after having his best lap time taken away for a yellow flag infringement. German rider Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Pucctti Racing) completes the second row, the German hoping to move forwards in Race 1 and Race 2 from his grid spot.

Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) will line up on the front of the third row, just ahead of WorldSSP rookie Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team); the 2019 WorldSSP300 Champion adapting to the new Championship and bike very well. Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) qualified in ninth place, around one second away from Locatelli’s pace setting time, with South African rider Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing) completing the top 10.

Wildcard Miquel Pons (H43 Team NOBBY) qualified in 13th place despite a fall in the mid-point of the session, while Turkish sensation Can Öncü (bLU cRU WorldSSP by MS Racing) and teammate, Andy Verdoïa, qualified in 19th and 21st respectively.

The top six following Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1. Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team)

2. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.226

3. Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.606

4. Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) +0.674

5. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.740

6. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.834

You can follow more thrilling action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!