Gonzalez heads mixed-up WorldSSP300 grid!

Saturday, 22 June 2019 11:28 GMT

With rain interfering with the WorldSSP300 grid, it was another spectacular Tissot Superpole session at Misano!

In a rain-affected WorldSSP300 Tissot Superpole session, the grid for the main race on Sunday will see a staggered approach, with those riders in Group A starting from odd grid positions in first, third, fifth etc, and even position starting slots for Group B riders, in a second, fourth, sixth etc format. With this situation, Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) took pole position ahead of Andy Verdoïa (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) and Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) in third.

Gonzalez took to the circuit when it was dry, putting in a strong banker-lap to top Group A, before the rain began to fall with just under five minutes to go. In the Group B session, France’s Andy Verdoïa finished on top which put him in second on the grid on the combined timesheets. The Yamaha rider will look to take his first win and remain in the title fight on Sunday. Reigning WorldSSP300 Champion Ana Carrasco took third, as she looks to continue her bounce back in form.

Having been in the top five at Jerez, it was Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team) who headed the second row from Group B, ahead of Indonesian rider Galang Hendra Pratama (Semakin Di Depan Biblion Motoxracing) from Group A and Italian wildcard Emanuele Vocino (GRADARACorse) in sixth, having placed third in the wet Group B. He will look to repeat Manuel Bastianelli’s (Prodina IRCOS Kawasaki) achievement from 2018, by taking a win as a wildcard at Misano.

Down the order, it will be the Last Chance Race for the likes of Omar Bonoli (Team Trasimeno Yamaha) and Tom Edwards (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team), whilst Marc Garcia (DS Junior Team) slipped to 15th and only a few places ahead of Scott Deroue in 18th for the main race on Sunday.

Watch all of the WorldSSP300 action on Sunday afternoon with the WorldSBK VideoPass!

Top six combined after Tissot Superpole, full results here!

  1. Manuel González (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) 1’49.646
  2. Andy Verdoia (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) 1’59.231 (wet conditions)
  3. Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) 1’50.245
  4. Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team) 2’00.143 (wet conditions)
  5. Galang Hendra Pratama (Semakin Di Depan Biblion Motoxracing) 1’50.436
  6. Emanuele Vocino (GRADARACorse) 2’00.582 (wet conditions)