WorldSSP300 SILLY SEASON: huge changes as Buis switches to KTM, Indonesia’s Pratama secures 2024 seat

Tuesday, 12 December 2023 09:27 GMT

Much like in WorldSBK and WorldSSP, the 2024 WorldSSP300 grid is set for a major shake-up as riders switch teams

The FIM Supersport 300 World Championship grid could look vastly different in 2024 compared to the 2023 one. This season’s Champion, Jeffrey Buis, is on the move to KTM from Kawasaki, meaning a vacancy was available temporarily creating a knock-on effect up and down the grid. Here, we recap the moves that have been announced so far. Last updated: Monday, 12th December.

CHAMPION ON THE MOVE: Kawasaki to KTM for Buis, race winner replaces him in WorldSSP300

Before he secured his second WorldSSP300 title, Jeffrey Buis’ future was already known. He’s departed the MTM Kawasaki squad, the team he won both Championships with, to move to the Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing outfit. A new team, new colours, and a new bike for the Dutchman to ride. His seat at MTM Kawasaki will be filled by Mirko Gennai, as he switches from Yamaha to Kawasaki as he looks to keep up the team’s remarkable success; the Italian will race alongside Loris Veneman for his second season. Elsewhere, 2021 Champions Arco Motor University Team have secured the services of Samuel Di Sora and will also promote Unai Calatayud from the Spanish championship for 2024.

RETURNING NAMES: Iglesias comes back, Calatayud secures full-time seat, Pratama with ProGP Racing

Also announced was Inigo Iglesias’ return to WorldSSP300, after he raced and won in the IDM Supersport 300 championship this year. His Fusport-RT Motorsports by SKM-Kawasaki teammate was later announced as Czech star Petr Svoboda after his race-winning 2023 campaign. Team Flembbo – Pl Performances will continue with Kevin Sabatucci in 2024 while also signing Ruben Bijman from the Arco Motor University Team. ProDina Kawasaki Racing will line up with double Misano winner Bruno Ieraci and rookie Giacomo Zannini. ProGP Racing will line-up with Indonesian star and double WorldSSP300 race winner Galang Hendra Pratama for their 2024 challenge.

Announced riders so far

Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing: Jeffrey Buis

MTM Kawasaki: Loris Veneman and Mirko Gennai

Fusport – RT Motorsport by SKM – Kawasaki: Inigo Iglesias and Petr Svoboda

Team Flembbo – Pl Performances: Kevin Sabatucci and Ruben Bijman

Arco Motor University Team: Samuel Di Sora and Unai Calatayud

ProDina Kawasaki Racing: Bruno Ieraci and Giacomo Zannini

ProGP Racing: Galang Hendra Pratama

Re-watch some incredible moments from 2023 and get set for 2024 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!