Steeman storms to WorldSSP300 FP1 top spot as he leads MTM Kawasaki 1-2

Friday, 29 July 2022 08:31 GMT

After winning at the Autodrom Most in 2021, Steeman continued his fine form in the Czech Republic with top spot in FP1

Free Practice 1 for the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship at the Autodrom Most ended with a mixed-up order at the Autodrom Most as Victor Steeman (MTM Kawasaki) topped the timesheets in the 30-minute session. Steeman claimed Race 1 victory last year and continued where he left off in the Czech Republic by topping the timesheets for the Prosecco DOC Czech Round by almost three tenths as he went under the previous lap record for both Superpole and race lap records.

Steeman posted a 1’46.335s lap time during Free Practice 1 as he went fastest by 0.279s ahead of teammate Ruben Bijman (MTM Kawasaki), with Bijman leaving it until his last lap of the session to put in his best time although he, and Steeman, had been running towards the front of the field all session. Steeman’s time was around half-a-second quicker than his own Superpole record from 2021, and a tenth faster than the race lap record set by 2021 Champion Adrian Huertas. German rider Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) claimed third spot after being bumped down by Bijman at the end of the session, posting a 1’46.675s.

Marc Garcia (Yamaha MS Racing) was the first of the title contenders with fourth place as the 2017 Champion posted a 1’46.775s, exactly a tenth slower than Lehmann, to move up the order. He led fellow Spanish rider Alex Millan (SMW Racing) in fifth while wildcard Petr Svoboda (Accolade Smrz Racing), racing on home soil, completed the top six with a 1’46.970s; the final rider to be inside the 1’46s bracket.

Championship leader Alvaro Diaz (Arco Motor University Team) was seventh with a 1’47.048s with Italian rider Kevin Sabatucci (Kawasaki GP Project) in eighth place. Daniel Mogeda (Team#109 Kawasaki) enjoyed a strong start to his Cech Round with ninth place ahead of Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) who rounded out the top ten.

The top six following WorldSSP300 FP1, full results here:

1 Victor Steeman (MTM Kawasaki) 1’46.335s

2. Ruben Bijman (MTM Kawasaki) +0.279s

3. Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) +0.340s

4. Marc Garcia (Yamaha MS Racing) +0.440s

5. Alex Millan (SMW Racing) +0.462s

6. Petr Svoboda (Accolade Smrz Racing) +0.635s


Watch WorldSSP300 FP2 at 14:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!