Razgatlioglu eight tenths clear of Rinaldi in WorldSBK Warm Up

Sunday, 11 September 2022 07:24 GMT

The pair responded from their Race 1 issues to finish 1-2 in Sunday’s Warm Up session, with Razgatlioglu 0.8s clear

Sunday’s action got underway with Warm Up for the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship with reigning Champion Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) topping the times by more than eight tenths at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours for the Pirelli French Round as three manufacturers finished Warm Up in the top three of the timesheets.

Razgatlioglu posted a 1’36.226s to take top spot in the 15-minute Warm Up session as the Turkish rider finish 0.811s clear of Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati). Both had issues in Race 1 which hampered their charge but will be hoping their Warm Up kickstarts their Sunday in the perfect fashion. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) was third, 0.822s behind Razgatlioglu but only 0.011s behind Rinaldi with a really condensed field behind Razgatlioglu.

Six-time World Champion Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) took fourth place, with Rea also responding to his Race 1 crash, finishing ahead of Championship leader Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) in fifth and Garrett Gerloff (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) rounding out the top six, with another strong day on the cards for Gerloff after his season-best fifth in Race 1.

Race 1 podium finisher Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) took seventh place, ahead of compatriot Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) in eighth. The two Italian riders were separated by just 0.003s at the end of the session. Home hero Loris Baz (Bonovo Action BMW) was a tenth behind in ninth while Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) completed the top ten despite a huge moment through the final chicane.

The top six following WorldSBK Warm Up, full results here:

1. Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) 1’36.226

2. Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) +0.811s

3. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.822s

4. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.841s

5. Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) +0.980s

6. Garrett Gerloff (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.998s

Watch racing action from France with the Tissot Superpole Race from 11:00 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!