Doubling up: Aegerter becomes third back-to-back WorldSSP Champion with 2022 title

Saturday, 12 November 2022 04:57 GMT

Swiss rider Aegerter joined an exclusive club as he secured his second consecutive WorldSSP title in style during the Indonesian Round

With a round to spare in the FIM Supersport World Championship, Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) has ensured he will go down in the Championship’s history even more emphatically than he already had. The Swiss rider took the 2022 crown in style during the Pirelli Indonesian Round to become only the third rider to take back-to-back Championships as he fended off the challenge from Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) throughout 2022.

ABOUT AEGERTER: get to know the 2022 Champion

32-year-old Aegerter was born in Rohrbach, Switzerland and added to the country’s success in WorldSSP with his second title and the country’s third, after Randy Krummenacher in 2019. As well as success in WorldSSP, Aegerter has been competing in MotoE™ throughout and claimed that title this year. The Swiss rider was also able to test a MotoGP™ bike earlier this season with Suzuki and he also experienced the Suzuka 8 Hours. Before he secured his second WorldSSP title, it was announced that Aegerter would graduate to WorldSBK next season with the GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team.

CONSISTENCY PAYS OFF: a remarkably high level

Aegerter’s consistency is one reason why he took the 2021 title and that continued throughout 2022. In the 20 races Aegerter has competed in (he was suspended from Race 2 at the Autodrom Most), he has finished 19 of them, stood on the podium on 17 occasions and has won 15 races (15 being a new record for wins in one single season). His only non-score came at Most in Race 1 when he was taken out in a Turn 1 collision, whilst his worst finish of the season was fourth at Portimao in Race 1 and Race 1 at Mandalika. Remarkable stats for a one-season campaign, but it also extends to his overall WorldSSP record: in 41 races in WorldSSP, he has 25 wins and 33 podiums.

NEVER EASY: incredible last lap fights define his 2022 title

Despite winning so many races, often it comes down to late-race and last-lap fights for Aegerter to take victory. This theme started at the season-opening Aragon Round, when Aegerter and Baldassarri fought hard in Race 1 right through the final corner as well as the incredible Race 2. At Assen next time out, Aegerter timed his race-winning overtake to perfection to deny Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) a dream home win. Both races at Misano were defined by last-lap fights, with Aegerter doing the double: he benefitted from a track limits penalty for Baldassarri in Race 1 whilst the Swiss rider came out on top in a thrilling Race 2 battle. It was a theme that repeated itself in the Portuguese and Argentinean Rounds too, across both races. Race 1 was a historic race in Portugal whilst Race 2 was a thrilling four-way battle and it was a similar story in Argentina Race 1 as Aegerter took victory and Race 2, where Aegerter left it until the final corners to claim victory.

RECORD BREAKER: two seasons in WorldSSP and a whole heap of records…

The consistency shown by Aegerter has turned into record-breaking campaigns for the Swiss rider and his Ten Kate Racing Yamaha team. In 2022, Aegerter broke the record for wins in a season with 15 prior to the Indonesian Round, as well as podiums in a season with 17; this actually broke his own record from 2021, when he took 16. Perhaps the biggest record was matching the win streak record in WorldSSP when he took nine consecutive wins from Race 2 at MotorLand Aragon to Race 2 at Donington Park. Nine wins moved him level with Andrea Locatelli after he set the record in 2020. It also extends Ten Kate Racing’s illustrious history in the WorldSBK paddock, with the team now on 11 Riders’ Championships; ten in WorldSSP following Aegerter’s 2022 success and one in WorldSBK from James Toseland in 2007.

ONE YEAR, TWO TITLES: #DoubleDomi with a unique achievement

Very few riders are able to say they won one title in a year, and even fewer can say they took two titles. Aegerter, however, joined an exclusive club this season as he won the MotoE™ World Cup as well as the WorldSSP title. In 2021, Aegerter was going for the same achievement but fell short in MotoE™ as he took second place but won WorldSSP, despite a clash meaning he missed one round in WorldSSP and gave up 50 points. He went one better this season as he took the MotoE™ title in a final round showdown, whilst wrapping up the WorldSSP crown with a round to spare.

A LIMITED CLUB: third back-to-back Champion, fourth multiple-time Champion…

Aegerter made history with his 2022 success by becoming only the fourth rider to take multiple titles in WorldSSP and just the third to take back-to-back titles. He joins Sebastien Charpentier and Kenan Sofuoglu as a back-to-back Champion after they took the titles in 2005-2006 and 2015-2016 respectively. In terms of multiple-time Champions, only one other rider joins Aegerter, Charpentier and Sofuoglu in that particular club. Australian Andrew Pitt, now Locatelli’s crew chief in WorldSBK, took the 2001 and 2008 titles in WorldSSP.

Congratulate Aegerter on his second title using #DoubleDomi on social media and watch the rest of the 2022 season in style using the WorldSBK VideoPass!