"A big achievement… a second dream come true!" – emotional Aegerter reflects on his back-to-back WorldSSP titles

Saturday, 12 November 2022 06:25 GMT

The Swiss rider made WorldSSP history as he claimed the title with three races to spare after a dramatic Race 1 in Indonesia

The FIM Supersport World Championship was decided in Race 1 of the Pirelli Indonesian Round at the Pertamina Mandalika International Street Circuit as Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) was crowned Champion for a second consecutive year. Having built up a lead of over 70 points in the second half of the season, Aegerter was able to take advantage of that to claim the title with three races to spare as he finished fourth in Race 1.

Aegerter was running outside the podium places throughout the race but knew he would be crowned Champion if he outscored title rival Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) by three points in Race 1. With Baldassarri crashing out of the race in the opening stages, all Aegerter had to do was come home in 13th place to take his second world title of the season and he duly did so with fourth place after a last-lap fight with Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing).

Reflecting on his 2022 season, where he also won the MotoE™ World Cup to take two world level titles in one calendar year, Aegerter said: “A fantastic job we did this year. Three races before the end, we got the second World Championship. We also got the MotoE™ title. We had 15 race wins, 17 podiums and my worst place this season was a fourth place when I finished the race. We had a fantastic season. For me, a second dream come true to be World Champion again. I want to dedicate this Championship to my family, my friends, to all the sponsors, the Ten Kate Racing team and Yamaha. They helped me to be there and I hope, next year, we can continue in a good way. I’m feeling ready to jump up to WorldSBK and I can’t wait to ride it for the first time in December with the GRT Yamaha team.”

Aegerter’s second consecutive title puts him in two exclusive clubs in WorldSSP. He became only the third rider to take back-to-back Championships in the class, after Sebastien Charpentier in 2005 and 2006 and Kenan Sofuoglu in 2015 and 2016 while he is only the fourth rider to take multiple WorldSSP titles. Sofuoglu leads the way on five titles, the record title holder in the Championship, with Charpentier on two along with Aegerter and Andrew Pitt, who won his titles in 2001 and 2008.

The two-time Champion discussed this achievement, saying: “For sure, it feels great. We achieved really great things this season, many records, but our goal was to fight for the Championship. We already had over 60 points advantage in the middle of the season and then somebody crashed me out, a small mistake, and we went down to five points. We fought back until it was 72 points and now, three races before the end, we win the Championship. It’s a big achievement. It is not possible alone; we are a big family and the team helped me to do this.”

Congratulate Aegerter on his title success on social media using the hashtag #DoubleDomi and watch the rest of the 2022 season using the WorldSBK VideoPass!