Mahias heads Viñales after intense WorldSSP FP1

Friday, 18 September 2020 10:34 GMT

The 2020 WorldSSP Championship is up for grabs this weekend, but Andrea Locatelli may be having it a bit tougher…


The 2020 FIM Supersport World Championship is there for the taking this weekend but it was all change at the top of the timesheets in FP1. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was able to fend off the Kallio Racing Yamaha of Isaac Viñales at the head of the field, whilst Championship leader Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) could only manage fourth. 

Mahias’ time of 1’45.682s was enough to top the timesheets ahead of Viñales with just 0.059s separating the duo in Free Practice 1. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was classified in third place, two tenths behind Mahias, while Championship leader Locatelli finished in fourth place; the Italian able to clinch the WorldSSP title this weekend. Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing) finished the session in fifth place, just 0.029s away from Locatelli.

Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) was the lead GMT94 rider in sixth place, ahead of Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was classified in seventh place. Kyle Smith (GMT94 Yamaha), replacing the injured Jules Cluzel for the Catalunya Round, was in eighth place ahead of 2019 WorldSSP300 Champion Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) and Danny Webb (WRP Wepol Racing) completing the top ten; Webb taking an early trip through the gravel but able to set a time good enough for tenth place. Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) was in 13thplace, 1.180s away from Mahias’ pace in the opening session.

Top six after FP1:

1 Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 1’45.682
2.) Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) +0.059s
3.) Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.231s
4.) Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) +0.258s
5.) Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing) +0.289s
6.) Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.461s

Watch the full round of races at Catalunya in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!