Perez on top after WorldSSP300 Tissot Superpole!

Saturday, 11 May 2019 11:45 GMT

2018 WorldSSP300 runner-up ahead of De Cancellis and Carrasco at Imola!

In the usual frantic and chaotic manner, WorldSSP300 took to the famed Imola layout for their Tissot Superpole sessions. On pole position, it was Group A rider Mika Perez (Scuderia Maranga Racing), who slotted in a tidy time to take his fifth career pole, the most of anyone in the WorldSSP300 class.

With Spaniard Mika Perez came pace and intelligence, giving himself valuable track time, not only in the racing pack but also on his own, gaining experience and knowledge in both scenarios. However, the 2018 WorldSSP300 runner-up suffered a crash at Turn 6 but was up and OK. Joining him on the front row is French rider Hugo De Cancellis (Team Trasimeno Yamaha) and reigning WorldSSP300 champion and 2018 Imola winner, Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300).

Row two sees the first of the Group B riders and the first Italian; Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) starts fourth, despite crashing in the final few moments of the Group B Tissot Superpole session. Fifth position went to Ferran Hernandez Moyano (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) ahead of Jan-Ole Jahnig (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team).

French rider Andy Verdoia (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) starts from seventh on the grid, with championship leader Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) only able to achieve eighth position. Scott Deroue is 0.006s further back in ninth position. Completing the top ten is 2017 WorldSSP300 champion Marc Garcia (DS Junior Team).

Watch all of the action on Sunday with the WorldSBK VideoPass!

Top six combined after Tissot Superpole, full results here

  1. Mika Perez (Scuderia Maranga Racing) 2’.06.351
  2. Hugo De Cancellis (Team Trasimeno Yamaha 2’06.670
  3. Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) 2’06.754
  4. Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) 2’06.804
  5. Ferran Hernandez Moyano (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) 2’07.043
  6. Jan-Ole Jahnig (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team) 2’07.049