Krummenacher takes WorldSSP championship lead after "tough race"

Monday, 8 April 2019 10:04 GMT

Randy Krummenacher made his mark on the WorldSSP championship with an exhilarating victory at the MotorLand Aragon circuit!

In what was a thrilling World Supersport race the MotorLand Aragon circuit, Swiss rider Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) took his second win of the season and gained a 14-point advantage over nearest championship rival Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA), who finished fifth.

Krummenacher did not get the best start and after completing the opening lap in fourth position, he made his way to the back of leading duo, Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) and Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing). Bringing with him Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse), it was a four-way fight for the lead of the race. Into the final corner on the last lap, Krummenacher made his move on De Rosa, before crossing the line with just 0.094s between them.

Speaking after the race, an ecstatic Randy Krummenacher said: “It was a really tough race! After warm-up, I felt like I had a bit more than the rest and I thought I could get away. However, it was completely different, and the conditions changed again, so I felt on the edge! Finally, I was in front, but I made a mistake and left it to the last lap! It was a perfect last lap, as I came out the slipstream and passed Raffaele and won!”

Krummenacher took his fourth career WorldSSP win, level two with former double-WorldSSP runner-ups: Vitoriano Guareschi and Kevin Curtain. It also places him level with 2003 WorldSSP champion, Chris Vermeulen. One more win for the Swiss rider and he will level with 2009 WorldSSP champion Cal Crutchlow.

Looking forward to the TT Circuit Assen for the fourth round, Krummenacher stated: “I really love this track; I showed there last year that I have a really strong pace. I am really looking forward to Assen!”

Watch Krummenacher and the rest of the WorldSSP riders in action at the Motul Dutch Round with the WorldSBK VideoPass!