Sofuoglu wins Dutch WSS race after tense final lap fight

Sunday, 19 April 2015 10:21 GMT

WSS race run at lap record pace as title fight intensifies.

A last corner decider went in the favour of Kenan Sofuoglu (Kasawaki Puccetti Racing) as the Turkish rider claimed back to back wins in the World Supersport championship to extend his lead in this year’s series.

After the disappointment of Thailand and Aragon, Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) returned to the podium in 2nd after narrowly missing out on the victory as both he and Sofuoglu collided coming through the final chicane. Cluzel had the consolation of a new lap record as he secured 20 points to keep alive his championship chances.

The final podium place was decided after another dual, this time between Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) and PJ Jacobsen (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres). Smith, who led the opening two laps after making a great start, eventually finishing 3rd to claim his 3rd podium finish of the year ahead of the American who once again showed that he is in contention for the championship.

Roberto Rolfo (Team Lorini) in his 21st year of racing achieved 5th, coming home ahead of Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who was 6th.

Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) had a lonely race to 7th at the flag with Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing), Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25) and Riccardo Russo (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) completing the top ten at the end of an exciting lap race.

Don’t miss the next round of the World Supersport championship which takes place in Imola on 10th May. Follow all the action live at