Race 2 win goes to Leon Haslam after another last lap fight

Sunday, 22 February 2015 04:20 GMT

Championship wide open as race two delivers another thriller.



The 2nd race of this year’s eni FIM Superbike World Championship was even more exciting and unpredictable as the first, with Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team) snatching the victory ahead of fellow podium finishers Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) and Chaz Davies (Aruba Ducati SBK) after another epic final lap, as in the early stages 9 riders fought it out at the head of the field.

For Haslam it was his first victory since Kyalami in 2010.

As in race 1 it was Rea who took the holeshot, the Kawasaki rider in control until an audacious move by reigning World Supersport Champion Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda WSBK Team) sensationally took the lead into turn one at the start of lap 7. Van Der Mark would crash out of 4th at the end of lap 19 without injury.

Jordi Torres also fell a lap earlier, losing the front of his Aprilia Racing machine at Turn one.

The 22nd and final lap would once again decide the outcome of the race and at the flag and behind the top three it was Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), Sylvain Guintoli (Pata Honda WSBK Team) who completed the top 5 with Nico Terol (Althea Racing) a lonely 6th ahead of, Randy de Puniet (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki), Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing) and Roman Ramos (Go Eleven Kawasaki) who rounded out the top ten.

Troy Bayliss (Aruba Ducati SBK) started well, once again moving through the field making it as high as 7th until the triple champion entered the pits to change his front tyre on lap 14. He rejoined finishing outside of the points in 16th.

Niccolo Canepa (Team Hero EBR) was ruled unfit following his race 1 tumble while local wildcard Jed Metcher started from the back of the grid after his Kawasaki was pushed off the grid just minutes before the race was scheduled to start. He eventually retired to the pits as did Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) who pulled in at the end of lap 2.