WorldSSP Misano Preview: Championship leaders separated by just TWO points; battle heats up for top ten in WorldSSP Championship

Tuesday, 11 June 2024 07:40 GMT

It is a truly titanic title tussle in WorldSSP, as the paddock heads to Misano for Round 4.

Following on from a Pirelli Dutch Round at the Assen TT that saw five different riders pip podium places, the WorldSSP Championship is back in action, and is live from Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli”. Interestingly, Misano has hosted 26 WorldSSP races so far, with 19 different winners; there could very well be another shock upset on the cards. Stefanzo Manzi was the winner here last year, displaying an impressive performance twelve months ago. There are several storylines already developing from this 2024 season, which is sure to only get even more dramatic as the season progresses.

DRAMA IN TITLE FIGHT: Top four riders separated by TWO points in the standings

Three rounds in, and already this 2024 season is promising to be one of the most exciting in recent WorldSSP memory. Adrian Huertas ( Racing WorldSSP Team), Yari Montella (Barni Spark Racing Team), Stefano Manzi (Pata Yamaha Ten Kate Racing) and Marcel Schroetter (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) all occupy the top four positions in the championship yet are separated by just TWO points. Huertas and Montella both have two race wins this season, whilst Manzi, who also has a race win, has been a regular on the podium, as has the German Schroetter. This title fight is sure to only get more intense as we head to the Adriatic Coast.

BATTLE FOR TOP TEN: Six riders, sixteen points

Like the top four tussle for the WorldSSP title, the wider battle for the top ten is equally as enthralling. Bahattin Sofuoglu in P5 and Lucas Mahias in P10 are separated by just sixteen points, highlighting how high the level of competition is in WorldSSP this year. Frenchman Mahias scored an impressive podium in Race 2 at Catalunya, whilst Dutchman Glenn Van Straalen scored a brilliant win in Race 2 at Assen last time out. Mahias’ fellow Frenchman Valentin Debise has also been a podium scorer, achieving this in Race 1 at Assen. Heading into Round 4 at Misano, this is a battle that you do not want to miss!

RIDER CHANGES: Navarro and Baldassarri swap, Simon Jespersen replaces Okubo

Since the last WorldSSP outing at Assen, there have been a few changes in the paddock. Jorge Navarro and Lorenzo Baldassarri have swapped teams, with Navarro heading to Orelac Racing Verdnatura. Italian Baldassarri has gone the other way, joining the WRP-RT Motorsport by SKM – Triumph team. It will certainly be interesting to see how both riders’ fortunes change with their respective moves. Elsewhere within the WorldSSP paddock, Danish rider Simon Jespersen has been drafted in to replace Hikari Okubo at Vince64 Racing Team by Puccetti, piloting the Kawasaki ZX-6R.

Make sure to keep up-to-date with all the WorldSSP action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!