STATS GUIDE: Bautista closes in on Ducati-Misano history, a place in the top-five winners list for Razgatlioglu beckons?

Tuesday, 11 June 2024 07:46 GMT

Big milestones, a small piece of history and more revealed in the pre-round stats ahead of a visit to magical Misano

The MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship heads to the iconic Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” and there are some big milestones on the horizon. Alvaro Bautista ( Racing - Ducati) could make a bit of Ducati history on their home soil, BMW are closing in on their best season to date in WorldSBK and Spain could reach a century of wins. Read on to find out more stats about the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round.

436 – Jonathan Rea's 436 points collected at Misano is a record at the circuit. The next best from the current grid is Alvaro Bautista, with 169.

100 – At Misano, Spain has the second match-ball to reach the milestone of 100 wins, as they have 98. They are fifth in the all-time list behind Great Britain (307), USA (119), Australia (118) and Italy (109).

100+150+150+100 – In 2017 at Misano, Jonathan Rea took his 100th career podium, in 2019 his 150th, in 2021 his 150th for Kawasaki, in 2022 his 100th career front row.

96/99 – Alvaro Bautista is within striking distance of seventh in the all-time list for podiums. His tally is 96, with Chaz Davies on 99. 

95 – 95 podium placements for Ducati riders at Misano are an all-time record. The next highest is from Assen, as the Italian manufacturer have 89 there. 

64 – Misano has hosted 64 WorldSBK races so far, third overall with Donington Park. Only Phillip Island (70) and Assen (68) have hosted more races. 

42/43 – After a win at Assen, Razgatlioglu needs only one win to reach Noriyuki Haga in fifth in the all- time list (43 wins). 

37 – This is the track in which a single manufacturer has won the highest number of races: Ducati have won 37 times. Next up is also Ducati, with 33 wins at Phillip Island and Assen. The best value for another team is 19 by Kawasaki at Donington Park. 

15 – 15 years ago (2009), Jonathan Rea claimed his maiden WorldSBK win at this track.

12 – Ruben Xaus is the only rider who won here starting outside the top ten on the grid. In 2003, he recorded a double starting twice from 12th on the grid for the factory Ducati team.

12/13 – In 2022, Ducati claimed back the record of poles at Misano, 12, after Kawasaki had equalled them in 2021. Last year Ducati went one step ahead with 13.

12x5 – The last 12 wins here came all from the first five grid spots: the sequence started after Jonathan Rea won from 9th in Race 2 in 2018.

11 – Ducati was the sole winner here for 11 straight races: from 2001 Race 1 to 2006 Race 1. Andrew Pitt (Yamaha) broke the streak, taking his only WorldSBK win in 2006 Race 2.

9 – From 2011 to 2021, Kawasaki set a record streak of nine poles here. That equalled the absolute record streak in WorldSBK set by Ducati at Brands Hatch: nine straight poles from 1995 to 2002 (double race weekend in 2000).

8 – In 2019, Jonathan Rea became the most successful rider at Misano, upping his tally to eight wins. Troy Bayliss is second with six. Last year, Bautista matched Bayliss.

7 – This is one of the two tracks in which Tom Sykes set the record for poles at any given track, with seven. The other is Donington Park.

7 – Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu have won the last seven races at Misano, with Bautista winning five and Razgatlioglu two.

6 - Six points between the Championship leader and second place after nine races is the smallest margin since 2020, when Rea was leading Redding by four points. It’s also the sixth smallest gap ever after 9 races (the record is one point in 1993 and 2012)

5/7 – Five winners this year: to find a season with more we have to go back to 2020 (7).

3/6 – After just three rounds, BMW are already in the position to equal their best season: they have three wins, with their best years being 2012 and 2013 with six.

3 – There are only three riders in history with two-digit podium figures at Misano: Jonathan Rea (17), Troy Corser (16) and Troy Bayliss (11).

3 – The last three wins at Misano came from pole, a streak that hadn’t happened here since 2014-2015 (Tom Sykes: a double in 2014 and Race 1 in 2015). The last streak of four happened in 1999 and 2000, doubles from pole by Carl Fogarty and Troy Corser.

3 – Alvaro Bautista can become the first Ducati rider with 3 straight poles at Misano.

Follow every moment from Misano LIVE and UNINTERRUPTED using the WorldSBK VideoPass!