Vannucci stamps authority in FP1 on WorldSSP300's Imola return

Friday, 14 July 2023 08:39 GMT

Matteo Vannucci came out of the blocks flying at Imola as he topped the timesheets with WorldSSP300 action getting underway at Imola

Home hero Matteo Vannucci (AG Motorsport Italia Yamaha) used his Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola experience to full effect in Free Practice 1 as he topped the times by just over a tenth. On track for the first time since Misano, the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship kickstarted action for the Prometeon Italian Round with a 30-minute FP1 session with Vannucci and compatriot Kevin Sabatucci (Team Flembbo – PI Performances) topping the times.

As the WorldSSP300 field re-adjusted to Imola, a venue that the Championship has not visited since 2019, it was the #91 who led the way as he set a 2’07.385s. The top five were the only riders in the 2’07s bracket with compatriot Sabatucci in second spot, 0.118s down on Vannucci. He set a 2’07.503s for second place while German rider Dirk Geiger (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) took third; only 0.003s slower than Sabatucci.

Wildcard Bruno Ieraci (ProDina Kawasaki Racing) was fourth as he looks to repeat his sensational double victory from Misano. The Italian was 0.024s down on Sabatucci in second with the field condensed in FP1. 2020 Champion Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) took sixth as he looks to kickstart his title challenge, while Kove enjoyed their best session of the season in sixth. Marc Garcia (China Racing Team), drafted in for Imola, was two tenths away from Buis as he put the Chinese manufacturer inside the top six.

Mattia Martella (ProDina Kawasaki Racing) was seventh after posting a 2’08.261s as he enjoyed a strong start to his home round, while Alessandro Zanca (Team#109 Kawasaki) was only 0.004s down on his compatriot for a place in the top eight. Brazil’s Humberto Maier (Yamaha MS Racing/AD78 Latin America Team) took ninth with Julio Garcia (Team Flembbo – PI Performances) rounding out the top ten.

The top six from WorldSSP300 FP1, full results here:

1. Matteo Vannucci (AG Motorsport Italia Yamaha) 2’07.385s

2. Kevin Sabatucci (Team Flembbo – PI Performances) +0.118s

3. Dirk Geiger (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing) +0.121s

4. Bruno Ieraci (ProDina Kawasaki Racing) +0.142s

5. Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) +0.589s

6. Marc Garcia (China Racing Team) +0.725s

Watch more WorldSSP300 action with FP2 from Imola at 14:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!