STATS GUIDE: Razgatlioglu set to equal historic Fogarty record in Bautista’s backyard?

Tuesday, 19 September 2023 07:55 GMT

The sleepy, historic town of Alcaniz will wake to the sound of World Superbike this weekend, which means more history will be etched into an area with an eternal legacy in motorcycle racing

MotorLand Aragon hosts the tenth round of the 2023 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship, with just three rounds remaining of what has been a memorable season. This Spanish circuit has been the most used in the Iberian country in WorldSBK history and the local fans have deep roots in motorcycle racing. Records are never far away in a place that has seen it all, old and new, so let’s check out the statistical headlines ahead of the Tissot Aragon Round.

199 – Spain at Magny-Cours stopped short of 200 podiums with 199. With one more, they’ll become the fifth country to hit 200 after the UK (870), Italy (417), Australia (329) and the United States (262).

116/119 – Yamaha need three wins equal Honda in the wins chart. Yamaha has 116, Honda 119, the latter occupying the third all-time place. Ducati (411) and Kawasaki (178) are ahead.

108 – 108 races have been run on Spanish soil so far. The presence of Spain in the WorldSBK Championship began at Jerez in 1990 on the 18th of March, the opening round of the season.

107/109 – Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK) has his sights on the 5th all-time spot for podiums, held by Carl Fogarty at 109. He currently has 107.

51/52 –Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) has 51 wins, only one shy of the 3rd all-time spot held by Troy Bayliss (52 wins). Ahead, only Jonathan Rea at 119 and Carl Fogarty at 59.

44/31 – In 2011, Aragon became the fifth Spanish track in WorldSBK history and the 44th overall. With 31 races since 2011, it’s hosted the most races in Spain, ahead of Valencia on 22.

26 – Kawasaki have had podiums in the last 26 races at Aragon, a streak started in 2013, Race 2.

25x2 – The last 25 races run here were won by only two manufacturers: Ducati (14 times) and Kawasaki (11). The string started in 2014: before that year, they hadn’t posted a single win at Aragon; now, they are the two most successful constructors here. This duel extends also to second places, as in the same time span, only Ducati and Kawasaki were classified in second.

24 – At 24 Aragon podiums, Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) can set a new record for podiums at a given track, surpassing his tally of 25 at Assen.

23x23 – Rea climbed on the podium in all his 23 races run for Kawasaki at Aragon (since 2015). This is an absolute record streak for a given track in WorldSBK history. His nearest rival is Carl Fogarty, with 15 straight podiums at Assen (1992-1999).

14 – Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Aragon with 14 wins to Kawasaki’s 11.

10 – The lowest starting spot for a win at Aragon is 10th: Chaz Davies in Race 2, 2017.

4 – Tom Sykes is the record holder for poles at Aragon with four. Rea follows at three.

3 – Three countries have won here: Great Britain (21 wins), Italy (5) and Spain (5, all by Bautista).

1 – Aragon gave Michael Ruben Rinaldi a first win (2020, Teruel) and a first start in 2018.


2022 race winners:

  • Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki, Race 1)
  • Alvaro Bautista (Ducati, Tissot Superpole Race and Race 2)

Last three pole-sitters at MotorLand Aragon:

  • 2022: Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yamaha): 1’48.267
  • 2021: Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki): 1’48.458
  • 2020 (Teruel): Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki): 1’48.767

Manufacturer podium places (and wins) from all WorldSBK races at MotorLand Aragon:

  • Kawasaki: 35 (11)
  • Ducati: 32 (14)
  • Aprilia: 10 (2)
  • Yamaha: 9 (1)
  • BMW: 5 (3)
  • Honda: 2

Key gaps MotorLand Aragon in 2022:

  • Front row covered by: 0.209s
  • 1 second in Superpole covered… the top 6: 0.731s
  • Closest race gap between 1st and 2nd: 0.090s (Rea 1st, Bautista 2nd, Race 1)
  • Closest race podium: 5.416s (Rea 1st, Bautista 2nd, Razgatlioglu 3rd, Race 1)

Manufacturer top speeds at MotorLand Aragon, 2022:

  • Ducati: Alvaro Bautista – 331.2 km/h, Race 1
  • BMW: Eugene Laverty – 330.2 km/h, Race 1
  • Honda: Xavi Vierge – 327.2km/h, Race 1
  • Kawasaki: Jonathan Rea – 324.3 km/h, Race 1
  • Yamaha: Andrea Locatelli – 322.3 km/h, Race 1

Enjoy LIVE and UNITERRUPTED action from Aragon with the WorldSBK VideoPass, now just €9.99!