2023 Final WorldSBK Championship standings – Round 12: Jerez, Spain

Sunday, 29 October 2023 15:12 GMT

It’s all over, with a Champion crowned and a record crowd in attendance to cap of a marvellous season of racing

Round 12 of the 2023 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship was one of the most emotional of the season and indeed the last. Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) completed a triple and was crowned Champion in Race 1 on Saturday, although it was Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK) who put in another unhinged fight in Race 2 to come out fighting. He crossed the line first but was given a track limits penalty after touching the green on the last lap on the exit of the final corner after a head-to-head last curve shootout with Bautista. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) mounted the podium for the final time in green in the Superpole Race and was looking good for a perfect end to his time at KRT in Race 2 before crashing on Lap 5. Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) relinquished a top five in the Championship to Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) – who took him out in Race 1 – but was able to remain the Best Independent Rider for 2023.

Top ten in the Riders’ Championship standings below, full standings here:

1. Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) 628                            

2. Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK) 552

3. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) 370

4. Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK) 327

5. Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) 251

6. Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) 249

7. Danilo Petrucci (Barni Spark Racing Team) 228

8. Dominique Aegerter (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) 163

9. Remy Gardner (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) 156

10. Xavi Vierge (Team HRC) 149

Manufacturers’ Championship standings can be found here.

Watch the story of 2023 back in all its glory with the WorldSBK VideoPass!