STATS ROUND-UP: Misano milestones set the record straight in Italy

Wednesday, 15 June 2022 07:47 GMT

Ducati and Kawasaki are both on the verge of huge landmark figures, whilst the points tally after four rounds of 2022 is very interesting compared to the same point in 2021…

The 2022 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship is seeing a twist and turn at every round and the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round was no exception. The Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” played host to more drama and excitement, with the packed grandstands getting a real treat. As always, records tumbled and history was made, whilst big numbers were hit. Take a look at our stats round-up, so you’re in the driving seat for the next round.

998 – Like the World Championship-winning model, Ducati have 998 podium places to their name, after five further podium places at Misano.

499 – Despite being in striking distance at Misano, Kawasaki will have to wait until Donington Park for their 500th podium place, after Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) took second in Race 1 and third in the Tissot Superpole Race.

360 – Ducati achieved representation on the front row for the 360th time in WorldSBK, with Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) giving them a 184th pole position.

225 – With third place in the Tissot Superpole Race, Jonathan Rea made it 225 career podiums at the circuit at which he took a first win at in 2009 and his third career podium.

220/183 – In 2022, Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) leads the Championship on 220 points, compared to after four rounds last year when Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) led the Championship with 183 points.

106/51 – Big steps made by Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) in his second year as after four rounds, he has scored 106 points, more than double than his tally of 51 after four rounds in 2021.

150 – In his 150th start, Loris Baz took 10th in WorldSBK Race 2. He is the 34th rider to reach this mark.

100 – Jonathan Rea achieved his 100th front row after Superpole (it should’ve been 101, but a penalty at Assen in 2017 means he now hits the century mark).

89/52 – Ducati have achieved 89 podium places and 52 front row places at Misano.

39 – 39 career podiums for Alvaro Bautista, level with Scott Russell in 24th place overall. He is one shy of Michael van der Mark (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) and 2003 World Champion, Neil Hodgson.

22 – Alvaro Bautista took his 22nd win of his career, all of which come with Ducati. He therefore levels with Carlos Checa with 22 Ducati wins in sixth place overall in Ducati’s win rankings. One more and he’ll equal Raymond Roche’s tally of 23. His 22nd victory also means that he equals Marco Melandri’s win tally.

17 – With his two podiums in Race 1 and the Superpole Race, Rea now has the most podiums out of anyone at Misano with 17, one more than Troy Corser.

13 – After 13 races without a race win, Toprak Razgatlioglu was back to winning ways with victory in the Tissot Superpole Race at Misano. Ironically, in the race that ended his 13-race wait, Razgatlioglu set his 13th career fastest lap.

12 – After a double podium, Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) took his 12th career podium, equalling Gregorio Lavilla and Chris Walker at the 44th position in WorldSBK’s ranking.

12 – The points-scoring run continues for Alvaro Bautista and Iker Lecuona (Team HRC), the only riders to score points in each of the 12 races in 2022.

11/4 – In his 11th race, Xavi Vierge (Team HRC) took a best result of his rookie season in fourth in the Tissot Superpole Race.

10 – With second on the grid, Razgatlioglu made it ten consecutive front row starts after Superpole, a joint-record for Yamaha. The last time a rider achieved ten front rows for the Japanese manufacturer was Ben Spies in the first ten rounds of 2009, when he was on pole on all but one occasion – third at Misano.

7 – Seven years ago, Razgatlioglu won his first title at Misano with a third place in the STK600 category whilst for the last two years, he’s got his first victory of the season at the circuit. In 2019, he led a racing lap for the first time, also at Misano, in Race 2.

4 – For the first time in WorldSSP history, an identical podium has been achieved four times. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) and Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team), in that order each time.

3 – Razgatlioglu winning in the Superpole Race at Misano means he has won in three consecutive seasons for Yamaha. Only two other riders have done this – the late Fabrizio Pirovano and multiple runner-up Noriyuki Haga. Pirovano did it from 1988 to 1990, whilst Haga made it four consecutive seasons from 1997 to 2000, and then again from 2005 to 2008. Another win for Razgatlioglu will make him the first rider to achieve multiple wins in the three consecutive seasons for Yamaha.

3 – Bautista now matches the likes of Giancarlo Falappa, John Kocinski, Regis Laconi and Ruben Xaus for riders who have won three races at Misano. Only Jonathan Rea (8), Troy Bayliss (6), Max Biaggi (4) and Tom Sykes (4) have won more.

2 – Two BMWs inside the top ten for the second time in six races after Misano Race 2, with Scott Redding (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) in ninth and Loris Baz (Bonovo Action BMW) in tenth.

1 – For the first time, Alvaro Bautista, Toprak Razgatlioglu and Michael Ruben Rinaldi shared a podium.

Watch the 2022 season unfold in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!