Razgatlioglu responds at the first opportunity to top WorldSBK Warm Up at Misano

Sunday, 12 June 2022 07:25 GMT

After retiring from Race 1 on Saturday, Razgatlioglu topped the first session on Sunday as he looks to respond in style

Sunday’s MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship kicked off with the Warm Up session at the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” for the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round with reigning Champion Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) topping the session. It was the first chance for the Turkish rider to respond to Saturday’s retirement and he did so in style as he topped Warm Up by two tenths ahead of his nearest rivals.

Razgatlioglu posted a 1’33.770s in the 15-minute Warm Up session to top the times ahead of title rivals Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) and Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati), with Rea 0.199s back from Razgatlioglu and Bautista 0.247s back in a closely-fault session.

Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) claimed fourth spot as he posted a 1’34.167s, although his session was disrupted by a crash on his last lap at Turn 10 when he lost the front of his ZX-10RR, although Lowes was able to re-join the circuit and take his bike back to the pits. American Garrett Gerloff (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) was fifth ahead of Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) in sixth.

Italian riders finished seventh and eighth in War Up with Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) in seventh ahead of Race 1 podium finisher Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) in eighth. Xavi Vierge (Team HRC) was ninth, 0.821s down on Razgatlioglu’s pace, with Scott Redding (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) rounding out the top ten.

After finishing fourth in Race 1 yesterday, Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) was 12th in Warm Up, while three riders did not set a time. Loris Baz (Bonovo Action BMW), Alessandro Delbianco (TPR Team Pedercini Racing) and Roberto Tamburini (Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSBK Team) all did not post a lap time.

The top six following WorldSBK Warm Up, full results here:

1. Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) 1’33.770s

2. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.199s

3. Alvaro Bautista ( Racing – Ducati) +0.247s

4. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.397s

5. Garrett Gerloff (GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.481s

6. Iker Lecuona (Team HRC) +0.651s

Watch the Tissot Superpole Race LIVE and UNINTERRUPTED from 11:00 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!