New Superpole lap record for Baldassarri as he leads first Italian front row lockout in WorldSSP

Saturday, 30 July 2022 09:08 GMT

The rookie’s best time came from before the red flag as he set a new Superpole lap record on his way to his second pole position

The Tissot Superpole session for the FIM Supersport World Championship was a dramatic 20-minute session at the Autodrom Most with rookie Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) claiming pole position for the Prosecco DOC Czech Round with a new Superpole lap record, and level to the all-time lap record set during Friday’s two Free Practice sessions.

RECORD BREAKING: new lap record for Baldassarri and a front row lockout

The track conditions improved throughout the 20-minute session until the very end, when rain started to fall again, with times tumbling until a red flag that was deployed with four minutes to go. Baldassarri posted a 1’34.952s lap time to set the new Superpole lap record, while it was also the same time as Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) in Free Practice 2. Baldassarri claimed his second pole position in WorldSSP and will line up on the front row alongside Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing), who took his 27th front row start, and Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) in third with less than two tenths separating the three Italian riders. It is the first time the front row has been locked out by Italian riders in WorldSSP.

THE CHAMPION ON THE SECOND ROW: Aegerter off the front row

Reigning Champion Aegerter will start the race from fourth after he was bumped down by Bulega in the closing stages of the session. He will start alongside Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) after the Frenchman converted his strong Friday pace into a strong Superpole result on Saturday after posting a 1’35.292s, less than half a tenth slower than Aegerter. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) will start from sixth place after lapping just 0.003s slower than Verdoia.

A TIGHT THIRD ROW: less than a tenth in it

Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was the highest-placed Kawasaki rider in seventh spot after a posting a 1’35.416s, with fellow rookie Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) in eighth with only 0.009s separating Montella and the 2021 WorldSSP300 Champion. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) completed the front row with ninth spot, less than a tenth away from Montella’s time. French rider Valentin Debise (GMT94 Yamaha), standing in for Jules Cluzel, will start 10th with home rider Ondrej Vostatek (MS Racing Yamaha WorldSSP) in 11th; just 0.050s separating Debise and Vostatek.

HOUSEKEEPING: to note from WorldSSP

Bahattin Sofuoglu (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) enjoyed a strong Superpole session and will start from 13th place, with the Turkish rookie running in the top ten at points. Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) lost running at the start of the session and only completed two laps during the 20-minute session, taking 21st spot on the grid. Finnish rider Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) crashed in the closing stages of Superpole at Turn 20 when on a fast lap, less than three tenths down on the fastest time, with the red flags deployed with four minutes left of the session although Tuuli was back to his feet after the crash and took 17th place in Superpole.

The top six following WorldSSP Superpole, full results here:

1. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) 1’34.952

2. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.158s

3. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP) +0.182s

4. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.299s

5. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.340s

6. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) +0.343s

Don’t miss WorldSSP Race 1 from 15:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!