Lap record obliterated by Aegerter as he storms to WorldSSP pole position at Estoril

Saturday, 21 May 2022 10:06 GMT

The reigning Champion put in a series of fast laps to claim his second pole position of the 2022 season

Pole position at the Estoril Round for the FIM Supersport World Championship went to Championship leader Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) as he beat the all-time lap record at the Circuito Estoril. A series of fast laps from the beginning of the session meant Aegerter got closer and closer to the previous lap record before beating it at the end of his first run, and then beating it twice further in his second run of the 20-minute session.


The reigning Champion was the only rider to lap in the 1’39s bracket as he posted a 1’39.262s to claim his sixth pole position in WorldSSP and his second of the season, beating the previous record set by Andrea Locatelli, a 1’39.520s in 2020, by three tenths of a second. His time meant Yamaha have now claimed 98 WorldSSP pole positions, putting them level with Honda at the top of the all-time list. Aegerter claimed pole position by more than eight tenths of a second ahead of Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) as he claimed his second front row start with Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) completing the front row, nine tenths down on Aegerter’s time. It is van Straalen first front row start which came after a Turn 6 crash late on in the session.

NOT FAR FROM A FRONT ROW START: it’s close behind Aegerter

Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) had posted quick times in the first two sectors but was unable to match Aegerter throughout the whole lap, claiming fourth spot on the grid for both Race 1 and Race 2. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) had gone fastest in the early stages of the session and will line up from fifth place, ahead of teammate Andy Verdoia who is continuing his fine Estoril Round with sixth place.

LOOKING TO GAIN PLACES: can riders battle their way up to a podium?

It was a mixed session for Federico Caricasulo (Althea Ducati) as he qualified in seventh place. After posting a time good enough for third place at the time, Caricasulo then crashed at Turn 9 in the latter stages of the season which prevented him from improving his time again. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) will start from eighth place ahead of Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) in ninth; the Finn’s best Superpole result of the season. Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) rounded out the top ten with tenth spot with all five manufacturers inside the top ten.

HOUSEKEEPING: to note from WorldSSP

Ondrej Vostatek (MS Racing Yamaha WorldSSP) and Oli Bayliss (BARNI Spark Racing Team) both took their best Superpole result of the season with 13th and 17th respectively. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) was unable to set a lap time in Superpole after he suffered from a technical issue in the early stages of the session which forced him to return to the pits. He was able to get back out on track in the latter stages and qualified in 21st place.

Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing), who received a late call-up to replace the injured Patrick Hobelsberger, qualified 28th with Sander Kroeze, also racing for Kallio Racing, in 25th as he replaces the injured Alessandro Zetti. Tom Booth-Amos (Prodina Racing WorldSSP) was declared unfit with an increase in left ankle fatigue after sustaining an ankle injury last time out at Assen.

The top six following WorldSSP Tissot Superpole session, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’39.046s

2. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) +0.838s

3. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) +0.906s

4. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +1.060s

5. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +1.125s

6. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) +1.134s

Watch WorldSSP Race 1 from 15:15 Local Time (GMT+1) live and uninterrupted using the WorldSBK VideoPass!