Baldassarri strikes first to lead WorldSSP action in FP1 at Estoril

Friday, 20 May 2022 11:29 GMT

Just 0.072s split Baldassarri from Aegerter as the title battle ignites immediately

The 2022 FIM Superport World Championship’s third round of the season is underway at the Circuito Estoril in Portugal. The first Free Practice session of the weekend welcomed the riders on track, and it was Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) who secured top spot, ahead of Championship leader Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha).

The Italian rookie got down to a 1’40.361, enough to give him top spot overall as he looks for his second WorldSSP career win. Right behind him and winner of the last three races, Championship leader Dominique Aegerter. Aegerter took a career-first win at Estoril in 2021 for the team and was just 0.072s behind his title rival. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) took third place in what was one of the French rider’s best showings of 2022 so far, following arm-pump surgery after Assen. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) was top Ducati in fourth but suffered a fall at the end of the session at Turn 7. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) also crashed in FP1 with 18 minutes to go at Turn 6 but was able to remount. He had another moment at Turn 13 in the closing stages but was able to keep it upright.

Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was next up with the Italian rookie taking sixth, ahead of Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) in seventh and Unai Orradre (MS Racing Yamaha WorldSSP) in eighth, with the Spanish youngster having a bright start to his weekend. Ninth place honours went to Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) as he adapts to Estoril and Ducati machinery, whilst Hannes Soomer (Dynavolt Triumph) put Triumph in the top ten. Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was top MV Agusta in 13th, whilst teammate Bahattin Sofuoglu seemed to have technical problems at the start of the session.                

Top six after WorldSSP FP1 in at Estoril, full results here:

1. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) 1’40.361s 

2. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.072s

3. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.481s

4. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.597s

5. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.602s

6. Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.840s

Watch 2022 action unfold in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!