Aegerter smashes WorldSSP lap record as he leads pack of Italians in Misano Superpole

Saturday, 11 June 2022 09:08 GMT

The reigning Champion left it late before taking his third consecutive pole position ahead of the chasing pack

It was a record-breaking Tissot Superpole session in the FIM Supersport World Championship as Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) took pole position at the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli”, his third consecutive pole position in WorldSSP. Aegerter will lead clear four Italian riders at the Pirelli Emilia-Romagna Round after he smashed the lap record at Misano.

A NEW LAP RECORD: Aegerter takes pole position

Aegerter posted a best time of 1’37.173s as he went under the seven-year-old lap record previously held by Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha), holding off the challenge from his nearest rivals. Aegerter now as seven WorldSSP pole positions to his name, putting him level with 2020 Champion Andrea Locatelli and the first time he has secured three consecutive pole positions.

He will lead away four Italian riders with Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) in second place, his time of 1’37.427s also good enough to go under the previous lap record, with Bulega claiming his third front row start in four WorldSSP rounds. Bulega’s front row start puts Ducati on the front row in WorldSSP in Italy for the first time since Gianluca Nannelli took third at Imola in 2005. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) claimed third spot, three tenths down from Aegerter, for his second front row start in his rookie campaign.

STARTING FROM ROW TWO: a tight battle in store…

Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) claimed fourth spot with a 1’37.714s to put two Ducati Panigale V2 machines in the top four ahead of Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in fifth spot. It’s the first time in history four Italian riders have claimed a top-five grid slot, with only Swiss riders joining them on the front row. Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing) will round out the second row and start from sixth place.

MIXED EMOTIONS: differing fortunes in the top ten

Turkish star Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) will start from seventh place ahead of Cluzel in eighth place. Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph), who showed incredible pace on Friday, will start from ninth spot after an early crash at Turn 16 in Tissot Superpole costing him valuable track time. Oli Bayliss (BARNI Spark Racing Team) took his best Superpole result of his WorldSSP career with tenth place, becoming the first Australian to start in the top ten on a Ducati since Dean Thomas at Phillip Island in 2001.

DRAMA AT THE END: two riders crash out as they look to improve

It was a dramatic end to the session for both Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) and Patrick Hobelsberger (Kallio Racing). Van Straalen crashed out at Turn 4 as he looked to take a top ten start but dropped back to 12th after his crash. Hobelsberger crashed out at the same corner shortly after and he will start the race from 18th place.

The top six following WorldSSP Superpole, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’37.173s

2. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) +0.254s

3. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.331s

4. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.541s

5. Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.671s

6. Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing) +0.763s

Watch WorldSSP Race 1 in style from 15:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!