Aegerter obliterates lap record at Assen for WorldSSP pole position

Saturday, 23 April 2022 09:03 GMT

The reigning Champion left it until his second stint before he posted a sub-1’37s to claim pole position for home team Ten Kate Racing Yamaha

It was a record-breaking Tissot Superpole session in the FIM Supersport World Championship at the TT Circuit Assen as Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) claimed pole position for the Motul Dutch Round. The Swiss rider and reigning Champion posted his best lap time in his second stint of the 20-minute session as he smashed the Superpole lap record at Assen by more than three tenths.

AEGERTER TAKES TOP SPOT: fifth pole for the Swiss rider

Aegerter had been showing the pace of his Yamaha throughout the weekend and converted that into a stunning pole position, the fifth of his career, after posting a 1’36.906s lap time in his second stint. Aegerter was the only rider to lap quicker than 1’37s as he obliterated the lap record, he set in 2021 on his way to pole position. He will line up alongside Turkish star Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) who claimed his second front row start in WorldSSP, lapping 0.451s off Aegerter’s time. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) took third place and his first WorldSSP front row start as the lead Ducati rider on the grid, taking Ducati’s first front row start since Christian Zaiser in 2006 at the Lausitzring.


Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) was three tenths away from Bulega and will line up from fourth place ahead of Dutch rider Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team). Van Straalen had topped the session by just 0.002s in the middle stages of the session but was bumped down to fifth place as the session progressed. Rookie Italian Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) claimed sixth spot and he will be looking to move up the order to keep up his strong start to his maiden WorldSSP campaign.

A MIXED UP ORDER: claiming a top ten spot

German rider Patrick Hobelsberger (Kallio Racing) secured a third row start with seventh spot, 0.930s down on Aegerter’s record-breaking pace ahead of Italian rookie Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) in eighth place. Manzi was the first rider to be more than a second away from Aegerter’s pace as he finished less than a tenth clear of Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) in ninth after a strong showing from the Hungarian rider. WorldSSP stalwart Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) rounded out the top ten, missing out on a front row start by just 0.007s to Sebestuen.

HOUSEKEEPING: to note from Superpole

Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was the highest-placed MV Agusta rider in Superpole and will start from 12th place, with the Finn running as high as fourth during the session before falling down the order. Kyle Smith (VFT Racing) will line up 17th after his session was disrupted by a Turn 9 crash, with Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in 18th place; similarly, Montella had a crash at Turn 9 during the 20-minute session. Oli Bayliss (BARNI Spark Racing Team) took his best Superpole result to date with 19th on the grid.

The top six following WorldSSP Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’36.906s

2. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.451s

3. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) +0.468s

4. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.743s

5. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) +0.807s

6. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.917s

Don’t miss WorldSSP Race 1 from Assen at 15:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!