Aegerter obliterates lap record for WorldSSP pole position as Baldassarri takes fourth after out-lap crash

Saturday, 24 September 2022 09:06 GMT

Records were smashed in the Superpole session for WorldSSP as Aegerter took pole position while there was drama for title rival Baldassarri

There was drama wherever you looked in the Tissot Superpole session for the FIM Supersport World Championship at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya as Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) destroyed the all-time lap record by half-a-second on his way to pole position. Aegerter will start both races for the Catalunya Round from pole position after he topped the times by more than a second ahead of his rivals. Drops of rain fell

A RECORD-BREAKING LAP: the only rider in the 1’43s

Aegerter was able to post a 1’43.983s in the 20-minute Tissot Superpole session as the only rider to lap in the 1’43s during the session to take his ninth WorldSSP pole position and his fifth of the 2022 season. His gap to Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was more than a second, as it was to his rivals in Free Practice on Friday, with the Turkish star posting a 1’45.061s to take second place. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) was third as he claimed his 29th front row spot in WorldSSP, with three different manufacturers inside the top three.

BOUNCING BACK: drama for Baldassarri

There was potentially a huge twist in the title race during the WorldSSP Superpole session as Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) crashed out of the 20-minute session at Turn 12 on his out lap, with the Italian re-joining the session in the final six minutes. Despite only having two flying laps, Baldassarri was able to post the fourth-quickest time with a 1’45.196s, 1.213s behind Aegerter. He will be joined on the second row by rookie Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) with the Spanish rider backing up his front row from Magny-Cours with fifth in Barcelona. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) will start both races from the second row after he claimed sixth spot.

INSIDE THE TOP TEN: hoping to fight for the podium

Italian rider Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) will lead the third row after he took seventh place, ahead of Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) in eighth. Van Straalen had to put in a late lap to move the order and he duly did so, claiming a third row start, ahead of Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in ninth and Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) in tenth. Tuuli had been working with teammate Bahattin Sofuoglu throughout the session, with the Turkish rookie starting in 13th; behind Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing) and Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing).

The top six following WorldSSP Superpole, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’43.983s

2. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +1.078s

3. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +1.206s

4. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +1.213s

5. Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) +1.256s

6. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) +1.257s

Watch WorldSSP Race 1 from Catalunya from 15:15 Local Time (GMT+2) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!