Rinaldi heads Rea in Jerez WorldSBK Warm-Up, Razgatlioglu seventh

Sunday, 26 September 2021 07:22 GMT

The top 12 were covered by less than seven tenths of a second as WorldSBK action kicked off on Sunday

Sunday action returned for the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship at the Circuito de Jerez – Angel Nieto, with sun welcoming track action on the final day of the Motul Spanish Round. With the Championship’s top two covered by just a point, it’s a crucial day ahead for Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) and Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK). Michael Ruben Rinaldi led the way in Warm-Up, the Italian continuing his strong form into Sunday.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) hit the top of the timesheets with just over five minutes to go, the Italian starting both races from fifth on the grid and leading the way as Warm-Up concluded. Jonathan Rea was looking good and led most of the way with the reigning six-time World Champion placing second overall. Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) popped up to third in the closing stages, with the American just half a tenth ahead of Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK). Leon Haslam (Team HRC) set a fast lap in the closing stages, completing the top five.

Sixth place went Michael van der Mark (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team), with the Dutchman the highest he’s been all weekend and making it five manufacturers inside the top six. Toprak Razgatlioglu was seventh ahead of teammate Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK). Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) was ninth ahead of rookie sensation Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing), who completed the top ten. Scott Redding ( Racing – Ducati) was only 11th. Following on from yesterday’s WorldSSP300 incident, Isaac Viñales (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) will take no further part in the Motul Spanish Round.

The top six after WorldSBK Warm-Up, full results here:

1. Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Ducati) 1’39.668
2. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.092s
3. Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team) +0.161s
4. Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.212s
5. Leon Haslam (Team HRC) +0.433s
6. Michael van der Mark (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) +0.459s

Watch the action at Jerez in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!