Odendaal pips Aegerter as both shatter lap record in WorldSSP FP1 at Assen

Friday, 23 July 2021 10:28 GMT

Leaving it to the final moments to hit top spot, Odendaal edged out Aegerter as the title race electrifies

The FIM Supersport World Championship is back on track this weekend for their fourth round of the season, coming from the iconic TT Circuit Assen for the Prosecco DOC Dutch Round. It was a perfect start to proceedings for Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team), as he slotted into first position right at the end of the session, setting a new lap record for the WorldSSP class. Second after the opening session was Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), as the home-team impressed and were leading right until the final moments, whilst Germany’s Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was third.

Odendaal spent most of the session in second place, trailing a solidly performing Aegerter. However, right at the end of the session, a strong final sector left him as the man to beat ahead of Aegerter. It’s the first time Ten Kate Racing have been to Assen in WorldSSP since their collaboration with Yamaha and this weekend, are sporting a special livery with the traditional Ten Kate colours from when they won their WorldSSP titles in 2002, 2003 and 2004. Aegerter put in a strong session and was narrowly pipped by Odendaal. Philipp Oettl was third and continued to improve right until the chequered flag dropped. Fourth went to Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team), whilst in fifth was Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha); Gonzalez demoting Cluzel with his fastest lap coming at the end.

Estonia’s Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) completed the top six, ahead of Federico Caricasulo (GMT94 Yamaha), with the Italian being the last race winner in World Supersport at Assen back in 2019. Randy Krummenacher (EAB Racing Team) has a good record at Assen and was eighth after FP1, ahead of third place in the Championship, Luca Bernardi (CM Racing). The Sammarinese was less than a tenth ahead of Nikki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti), although the Finn suffered an enormous highside at Turn 2 but was thankfully OK.

Outside the top ten, Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac VerdNatura Racing) was 14th, the returning Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) was 16th, whilst Sheridan Morais (Wojcik Racing Team) was 17th in his first race back since 2018, as he was deputising for Christoffer Bergman. Suzuki also return to the class with Eemeli Lahti (HRP Suzuki), who was 18th.

Top 6 after FP1, full results here:

  1. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) 1’37.470s
  2. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.079s
  3. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.515s
  4. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) +0.728s
  5. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.758s
  6. Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) +0.854s

Watch the sessions unfold across the weekend with the WorldSBK VideoPass!