Last-ditch lap secures stunning pole for Sofuoglu at Misano in WorldSSP300

Saturday, 12 June 2021 08:26 GMT

The Turkish star claimed the second pole position of his WorldSSP300 by three tenths of a second ahead of his nearest rivals

Turkish star Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) claimed his second pole position of his FIM Supersport 300 World Championship career at the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” with a last-gasp lap for the Pirelli Made in Italy Emilia-Romagna Round, finishing more than three tenths clear in the Tissot Superpole session.


The Turkish star had claimed one pole position in 2020 and added to his tally with a stunning lap right at the end of the session, snatching pole position from Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez (Accolade Smrz Racing) who had topped the timesheets throughout the majority of the 20-minute session. Vicente Perez Selfa (Machado CAME SBK) claimed a front row start alongside his Spanish compatriot, two tenths away from Perez Gonzalez.


Hugo de Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) will start from the front of the second row, missing out on a front row start by just 0.005s, with MTM Kawasaki duo Koen Meuffels and Adrian Huertas claimed the final spots on the second row; Huertas had been looking like he would secure a front row start before being usurped by Sofuoglu, De Cancellis and teammate Meuffels.

Friday front runner Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) will start from seventh place with Ton Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) in eighth with Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM WorldSSP Team) in ninth; the Dutch rider had been the pace setter throughout Friday. Dorren Loureiro (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM - Kawasaki) rounded out the top ten.


Gabriele Mastroluca (ProGP Racing) just missing out on a top ten start by just hundredths of a second and will start in 11th for both Race 1 and Race 2, with Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing), Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki), Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) and Marco Gaggi (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) rounding out the top 15.


It was a difficult session for reigning Champion Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) as the Dutchman qualified down in 21st place, finishing just ahead of Inigo Iglesias (SMW Racing) in 22nd with the Spanish rider crashing at Turn 4 but able to re-join the session later on. Harry Khouri’s (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) session came to a premature end when he had a crash at Turn 3; the Australian taken to the medical centre following the incident.

The top six following Tissot Superpole in WorldSSP300, full results here:

1.         Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) 1'49.073s

2.         Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez (Accolade Smrz Racing) +0.316s

3.         Vicente Perez Selfa (Machado CAME SBK) +0.464s

4.         Hugo de Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) +0.469s

5.         Koen Meuffels (MTM Kawasaki) +0.585s

6.         Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) +0.602s

Don’t miss a single moment of action in 2021 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!