Booth-Amos fends off De Cancellis and Huertas in FP1 for WorldSSP300 at Misano

Friday, 11 June 2021 08:29 GMT

Huertas and Booth-Amos traded fastest times throughout the session before De Cancellis made a late charge for the top three

The first Free Practice session for the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship kickstarted the return to the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” for the Pirelli Made in Italy Emilia-Romagna Round with the opening 30-minute session providing a taste of what is to come over the course of the weekend with a tight battle at the top; Britain’s Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) topping the times in Free Practice 1.

The British rider had traded fastest lap times with Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) with the Spanish rider initially going fastest in the first half of the session. However, Booth-Amos was able to usurp Huertas with a 1’50.354s as well as pulling off an epic save in the opening session, before Hugo De Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) jumped ahead of Huertas in the closing stages; de Cancellis finished second and Huertas third.

Meikon Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) made a late charge up the order to claim fourth spot, ahead of Turkey’s Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) in fifth; the Turkish rider consistently fighting in the top five throughout Free Practice 1. Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing) rounded out the top six with the youngest ever race winner in WorldSSP300 four tenths off Booth-Amos’s pace.

Dutchman Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM WorldSSP Team) was seventh with all three manufacturers represented in the top seven. Harry Khouri (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) was in eighth place with Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez (Accolade Smrz Racing) and Dorren Loureiro (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) completed the top ten.

The top six following WorldSSP300 FP1, full results here:

1.         Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) 1'50.354s

2.         Hugo De Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) +0.022s

3.         Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) +0.186s

4.         Meikon Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) + 0.254s

5.         Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) +0.391s

6.         Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing) + 0.403s

Don’t miss a single moment of action throughout 2021 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!