Booth-Amos makes up for recent errors with stunning WorldSSP300 Race 2 victory

Sunday, 25 July 2021 14:10 GMT

The British rider had crashed out at the final corner in the previous two races but claimed victory after a typically frantic WorldSSP300 race at Assen

The final race of the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship was full of action at the TT Circuit Assen for the Prosecco DOC Dutch Round with British rider Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) claiming a victory as he looked to make up for recent errors that cost him high-scoring points in the last two races.


Booth-Amos claimed victory after being given a nine-place grid penalty for slow riding earlier in the weekend, one of nine riders to be given that penalty for the same offence, as he looked to close the gap to Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) at the top of the Championship. Booth-Amos claimed Kawasaki’s 90th podium in WorldSSP300 with his second victory of the season. Hugo de Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) claimed his second podium of the season with second place, ahead of fellow French rider Samuel di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo); the first time two French riders have been on the WorldSSP300 podium together.


Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) finished in fourth place after being demoted two positions for exceeding track limits twice on the final lap, with teammate Adrian Huertas in fifth; the Spanish rider given the same penalty as Buis for the same offence. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) was sixth as MTM Kawasaki secured a top six finish with three of their four riders; Koen Meuffels finishing in ninth.

Italian Mirko Gennai (BRcorse) was in seventh place ahead of polesitter Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM WorldSSP Team) in eighth after the local hero dropped down the order as the race progressed. Steeman was promoted to eighth after the chequered flag when Meuffels was demoted one place for exceeding track limits on the final lap. Meikon Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) completed the top ten, the first rider more than one second away from Booth-Amos.


South African rider Dorren Loureiro (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) claimed 11th place, missing out on a top ten finish by just one tenth of a second, with Gabriele Mastroluca (ProGP Racing) in 12th. Czech rider Petr Svoboda (WRP Wepol Racing) claimed his best result of the 2021 season with 13th; a result that will give him confidence as the Championship heads to the Czech Republic next time out.

Ton Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) was in 14th place after the 14-lap race in the Netherlands with Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) securing the last point on offer with 15th place. The 2018 WorldSSP300 Champion was one of three riders demoted a place after the race ended for exceeding track limits on the final lap. Alejandro Carrion (Kawasaki GP Project) finished just outside the points in 16th place with Victor Rodriguez Nuñez (Accolade Smrz Racing) in 17th; the Spanish also demoted one place for a track limits infringement on the final lap of the race. Johan Gimbert (OUTDO TPR Team Pedercini Racing), Kevin Sabatucci (Viñales Racing Team), who claimed a top five finish in Race 1, and Inigo Iglesias (SMW Racing) rounded out the top 20.


Two front runners lost their chance of victory on Lap 11 when Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) and Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing) coming together, with Turkish star Sofuoglu and Orradre, the youngest ever race winner in WorldSSP300, able to re-join the race, with Orradre finishing in 25th and Sofuoglu in 32nd.

Ruben Bijman (Machado CAME SBK) was a retirement on Lap 2 of the 14-lap race after he had a crash at Turn 1 at the start of the second lap. Christian Stange’s (2R Racing) comeback to WorldSSP300 ended with a Turn 3 crash on Lap 4. Vicente Perez Selfa (Machado CAME SBK) also retired from the race on Lap 4 after a crash at the final chicane. Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez crashed out of the race at around half-distance

The top six following WorldSSP300 Race 2, full results here:

1. Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki)

2. Hugo De Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) +0.513s

3. Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo) +0.545s

4. Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) +0.547s

5. Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) +0.550s

6. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) +0.557s
Fastest Lap: Koen Meuffels (MTM Kawasaki) 1’49.055 (New Lap Record)

Championship Standings

1. Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) 108 points

2. Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport – RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki) 90

3. Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo) 64

4. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) 52

5. Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) 52

6. Hugo De Cancellis (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) 49

Don’t miss any of the action throughout 2021 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!