Aegerter edges Odendaal Race 2 victory in shortened WorldSSP encounter at Navarra

Sunday, 22 August 2021 11:19 GMT

A thrilling encounter between the top two in the Championship made Race 2 a thrilling encounter at the Circuito de Navarra

The FIM Supersport World Championship’s first visit to the Circuito de Navarra provided more enthralling drama as Championship contenders Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) battled it out for Race 2 honours at the Pirelli Navarra Round in a shortened encounter after Red Flags were deployed on Lap 15 of the planned 20.


Starting from seventh on the grid, Simon Jespersen (Kallio Racing) got the jump to lead the race on the opening lap of the 20-lap race as the Danish rider gained six positions off the line, although his lead did not last long as Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha) claimed the lead with a move at the right-hander of Turn 11. Jespersen tried to fight back but had a huge moment on the exit of Turn 11 which allowed Odendaal to keep the lead.


In a familiar story to Race 1, Championship leader Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) found himself shuffled down the order in the early stages of the race but was able to fight back after getting past his rivals, although had to close down a gap of almost two seconds to Odendaal as he looked for his second win of the weekend. On Lap 8, Aegerter attempted to make the pass at Turn 15 but Odendaal was able to respond on Lap 9.

After four laps of not being able to pass Odendaal, Aegerter looked to make the move on Lap 13 into the final corner and briefly got ahead, although Odendaal was able to re-pass on the run into Turn 1. Aegerter did not lead Odendaal lead for much longer, though, as he made a move at Turn 3 – just one lap before Red Flags were shown after a crash for Borja Gomez (Yamaha Ms Racing) at Turn 1; Gomez taken to the medical centre for a check-up following the incident and will be transported to Estella Hospital for further assessments, with Gomez having multiple contusions but is conscious. It meant Aegerter claimed victory to extend his Championship lead over Odendaal, with the gap between the two now 47 points. Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) claimed another podium in his rookie WorldSSP campaign after fighting his way back through the field.


Federico Caricasulo (Biblion Iberica Yamaha Motoxracing) had a strong weekend at Navarra and claimed fourth place in his second round with the Yamaha Motoxracing outfit with his former teammate, Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) in fifth; the pair battling it out for fourth during the latter stages of the race. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) claimed sixth place after a challenging weekend for the German rider.

Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) was seventh and narrowly missed out on a place in the top six after fighting with Oettl, while Jespersen finished in eighth place after being unable to maintain his place on the podium but an impressive WorldSSP debut for the Danish rider as he stood in for the injured Hannes Soomer. Italian Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) was ninth with Swiss rider Marcel Brenner (VFT Racing), who was running inside the top five in the early stages of the race, completing the top ten.


David Sanchis Martinez (WRP Wepol Racing) was 11th after a strong debut weekend for the Spanish rider as he replaced Danny Webb after he split with the team, with Christoffer Bergman (Wojcik Racing Team) claiming a points finish on his return from injury, Federico Fuligni (VFT Racing) claimed 13th place with Daniel Valle (GMT94 Yamaha) 14th as he stood in at the GMT94 Yamaha outfit. Oscar Iglesias Gutierrez (Yamaha MS Racing) rounded out the points paying position with 15th and his best WorldSSP result in his second round.


Vertti Takala (Kallio Racing) had an eventful race as he fell down the order in the early stages but battled back to take 16th place, ahead of Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) and Leonardo Taccini (Orelac Racing VerdNatura); Taccini the highest placed rider competing in the WorldSSP Challenge. He had a battle with fellow WorldSSP Challenge competitor Kevin Manfredi (Altogo Racing Team) with Manfredi in 19th place, ahead of Michel Fabrizio (G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti), Luigi Montella (Chiodo Moto Racing) and Maria Herrera (Biblion Iberica Yamaha Motoxracing).


Hikari Okubo (G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti) crashed at Turn 15 which put an end to his fight for points while Randy Krummenacher (EBA Racing Team) and Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) came together at Turn 3 on Lap 4 as they both dropped down the order, although both were able to re-join. The incident was placed under investigation by the FIM WorldSBK Stewards although it was deemed no further action was necessary.

Eduardo Montero Huerta’s (DK Motorsport) race came to an end on Lap 5 as he crashed out on his own and was diagnosed with a right wrist contusion following a check-up at the medical centre, while Galang Hendra Pratama (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) crashed out at Turn 12, although he was able to re-join. He then had a second crash on his own at Turn 11 which forced the Indonesian rider out of the race.

Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) was declared unfit for Race 2 after his crash in Race 1 on Saturday with a right shoulder dislocation, while Stephane Frossard (Moto Team Jura Vitesse) was also declared unfit after a crash in Warm-Up with a cervical strain and right ankle contusion.

The top six following WorldSSP Race 2, full results here:

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha)

2. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.294s

3. Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) +2.264s

4. Federico Caricasulo (Biblion Iberica Yamaha Motoxracing) +3.700s

5. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +3.965s

6. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +5.624s

Fastest Lap: Dominique Aegerter: 1’41.196 (New Lap Record)

Championship standings

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 257

2. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) 210

3. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 156

4. Luca Bernardi (CM Racing) 150

5. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) 124

6. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) 120

Watch more stunning action from WorldSSP in 2021 using the WorldSBK VideoPass!