13th to first: Cluzel takes epic WorldSSP Race 2 win with final corner showdown

Sunday, 21 November 2021 06:39 GMT

The WorldSSP season ended with last-corner drama as Jules Cluzel claimed an incredible victory from 13th on the grid

The 2021 FIM Supersport World Championship campaign came to a thrilling conclusion at the Pertamina Mandalika International Street Circuit as Race 2 was decided at the final corner after an incredible 19-lap battle, with Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) taking his fourth win in the final three rounds. The top four were separated by just 0.714s at the end of Race 2 for the Pirelli Indonesian Round.


Federico Caricasulo (VFT Racing) was a fast starter as he moved immediately into the lead of the race with a move into Turn 1, with Turkish star Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) also making progress as the lights went out for the 19-lap race, with Öncü taking the lead on the opening lap before Caricasulo started fighting back. The Italian was able to close the gap to Öncü before making his move at Turn 10 on Lap 9 to re-gain the lead of the race.

Despite taking the lead of the race, the Italian was unable to pull a gap to Öncü, allowing Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) to close the gap, with the Finnish rider moving from third to first in one move at Turn 16 as he ducked under both Öncü and Caricasulo, while Öncü passed Caricasulo to move into second place. After taking the lead of the race, Tuuli looked to pull a gap to the rest of the field, setting a new lap record on Lap 11 with a 1’36.849s. On Lap 13, Caricasulo re-passed Öncü into Turn 10 to move back into second place and started chasing down race leader Tuuli. A lap after that move, Öncü dropped to the back of the six-strong lead group after a moment exiting the final corner, re-joining in sixth.


As the race entered its closing stages, Cluzel completed his charge to the front of the field after starting from 13th on the grid, as he made his move at Turn 10 on the penultimate lap of the race. On the final lap, at Turn 16, Cluzel looked to respond after losing out to Aegerter earlier in the lap, making a move at Turn 15 but running wide at Turn 16, allowing Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Caricasulo back through. At the final corner, Cluzel swept past Aegerter and Caricasulo as they battled it out to claim his fourth victory in six races while Tuuli was able to take advantage of that fight to sweep back into second having run wide and losing time and positions earlier in the season. Aegerter claimed third place with Caricasulo just finishing off the podium. Tuuli’s second place means MV Agusta now have 50th podium placings in WorldSSP, while Ten Kate Racing Yamaha were able to claim the 2021 Teams’ Championship.


Race 1 winner Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) backed his pace up with fifth place, just over a second behind Caricasulo, while he finished ahead of Öncü who claimed sixth place. Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) battled his way up the order from 12th place to finish in seventh place, with 2019 Champion Randy Krummenacher in eighth place.

The WorldSBK-bound Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) claimed another points finish, his streak now up to 21 races, in his final WorldSSP race before he makes the step up in 2022, with Hungary’s Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) rounding out the top ten after his half-season campaign in WorldSSP.


Finland’s Vertti Takala (Kallio Racing) was 11th place, just half-a-second away from a place in the top ten, but eight seconds clear of Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing), with the Spanish rider’s half-season campaign in WorldSSP coming to an end with another points scoring finish.

Home hero Galang Hendra Pratama (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) secured points in front of his home fans with 13th place as he helped Ten Kate Racing to secure the Teams’ Championship with his points finish. Andres Gonzalez (VFT Racing), in his fourth WorldSSP race, claimed 14th place with 2020 WorldSSP300 Champion Jeffrey Buis (G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti) rounding out the points with 15th place; Buis was given a double Long Lap Penalty for a jump start.


Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) ended his WorldSSP career with a crash at Turn 7 on Lap 2, with the Spaniard now switching to Moto2™ for 2022. Gonzalez was taken to the medical centre for a check-up following the crash. Felling Spanish rider Daniel Valle (Yamaha MS Racing) also retired from the race. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) was out of the race with a technical issue on his Yamaha YZF R6 machine, when the Dutchman was running in the points. South Africa’s Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) crashed out of the race at Turn 10 on Lap 15.

Christoffer Bergman (Wojick Racing Team) did not take part in Race 2 after he was declared unfit with a left leg functional impairment. Valentin Debise (GMT94 Yamaha) was declared unfit with a left acromioclavicular joint separation after a Free Practice 1 crash.

The top six following WorldSSP Race 2, full results here:

1. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha)

2. Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti) +0.419s

3. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.640s

4. Federico Caricasulo (VFT Racing) +0.714s

5. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura) +1.802s

6. Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +6.922

Fastest Lap: Jules Cluzel (Yamaha): 1’36.820 (New Lap Record)

FINAL 2021 Championship Standings

1. Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 417

2. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) 323

3. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) 286

4. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) 279

5. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 252

6. Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 182

Re-live an incredible WorldSSP season in style using the comprehensive WorldSBK VideoPass!