Two from two for Toprak with historic Yamaha 1-2-3 at Estoril

Sunday, 18 October 2020 10:28 GMT

Toprak Razgatlioglu made it two race wins at the Circuito Estoril while Rea and Redding battle their way up the field

The Tissot Superpole Race for the Pirelli Estoril Round had a familiar feel to it at the Circuito Estoril Round: Toprak Razgatlioglu (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) claimed victory without a challenge from his rivals while Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) was able to fight back through the field, along with Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) in the penultimate MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship race of 2020.

Razgatlioglu got a good start from pole position and maintained the lead of the race on the opening lap before pulling out gap of over one second ahead of Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Junior Team) in second; Gerloff securing back-to-back podiums for an American rider since Ben Spies in 2009. There was a titanic battle between Michael van der Mark (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) and Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) with the duo battling out for the entirety of the 10-lap race; the Dutchman coming out on top as Yamaha claimed a 1-2-3 finish for the first time in WorldSBK history and secure the front row starting positions for Race 2.

Davies finished the race in fourth place ahead of the duo of Rea and Redding as the duo battled their way back from 15th and the back of the grid respectively as they secured a row two start for Race 2; Rea still chasing his 100th WorldSBK victory while Redding will look to end the season well to use as a springboard into a 2021 title challenge.

Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) and teammate Leon Haslam finished in seventh and eighth place respectively to secure a third row start for the final race of the season and Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Team GOELEVEN) finished in ninth; the one point gained for Rinaldi enough to secure him the Independent Riders’ title as Loris Baz (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) crashed out on Lap 3.

Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) was a non-finisher in the race after he crashed at the end of the opening lap of the Superpole Race; having a lowside crash at the Turn 13 final corner.

Top six following Tissot Superpole Race, full results here:

1.) Toprak Razgatlioglu (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team)

2.) Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Junior Team) +1.928s

3.) Michael van der Mark (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) +2.940s

4.) Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) +4.074s

5.) Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +4.745s

6.) Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) +5.915s

You can watch more thrilling WorldSBK action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!