Redding bounces back to claim Superpole Race victory

Sunday, 6 September 2020 09:26 GMT

Championship protagonists battle throughout the 10-lap race as Scott Redding takes his first Superpole Race win of the season

The top two in the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship standings engaged in a titanic battle in the Tissot Superpole Race with Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) claiming a stunning victory as he bounced back from his Race 1 crash in the perfect fashion; taking his first victory in Tissot Superpole Races and denying Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) six Superpole Race victories in a row.

Redding got a good start from third on the grid and instantly passed Race 1 winner Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Team GOELEVEN) before passing Rea at Turn 15 on the opening lap, Lap 1 becoming the first lap in Tissot Superpole Races in 2020 that Rea has not led. Redding was able to manage the gap to Rea to claim victory, and his tenth WorldSBK podium, with Rea in second and Rinaldi claiming his second podium in two races. Redding will start from first on the grid in Race 2 with Rea second and Rinaldi third.

Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) Will start from fourth place after a strong showing in the Superpole Race with the Spanish rider in a thrilling battle over fourth place with Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) and Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK); Davies and Lowes starting fifth and sixth for Race 2.

Turkish sensation Toprak Razgatlioglu (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) claimed a third row start for Race 2 with a seventh-place finish after surviving a late fight from Leon Haslam (Team HRC), the British rider finishing in eighth place. Tom Sykes (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) completes the front three rows for the Race 2 grid after finishing in ninth place in the Tissot Superpole Race.

Top six following the Tissot Superpole Race, full results here:

1.) Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati)

2.) Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +0.970s

3.) Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Team GOELEVEN) +3.685s

4.) Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) +4.833s

5.) Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) +5.097s

6.) Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +5.725s

Follow more thrilling action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!