Locatelli makes it four poles in a row in WorldSSP

Saturday, 29 August 2020 10:20 GMT

Italian rookie continues Superpole dominance as he claims his fourth pole position by three tenths of a second

FIM Supersport World Championship action resumed with Tissot Superpole and it was Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) who claimed pole position at MotorLand Aragon for the Prosecco DOC Aragon Round, making it his fourth consecutive pole position in his first four WorldSSP races.

Locatelli finished the session more than three tenths faster than his nearest rival, Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) secured his best starting position of 2020; the German starting both races from second place as he put in a late charge to move up the order. His Kawasaki Puccetti Racing teammate, Lucas Mahias, will join him on the front row as he starts in third place.

Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) will start from fourth place, being nearly eight tenths away from Locatelli’s pace, with Estonian Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) in fifth; Soomer claiming his best start of 2020 and his best Superpole result onboard a Yamaha. Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) completes the second row with sixth place.

Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) will start in seventh place just ahead of South African rider Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing). Hungarian rider Peter Sebestyen (OXXO Yamaha Team Toth) claimed his secured his career-best starting grid with a third row start, starting from ninth, as Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) completes the top ten.

There were numerous incidents throughout the 25-minute session with Stefano Valtulini (Blackflag Motorsport), Andy Verdoïa (bLU cRU WorldSSP by MS Racing), Axel Bassani (Soradis Yamaha Motoxracing) and Galang Hendra Pratama (bLU cRU WorldSSP by MS Racing) all suffering crashes. Bassani will start the race from 16th place with Pratama in 20th and Verdoïa in 24th; Valtulini unable to set a time after his crash.

The top six after Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1.) Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team)

2.) Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.316

3.) Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.645

4.) Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.760

5.) Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) +0.858

6.) Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) +0.942

You can follow more exciting WorldSSP action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!