Locatelli heads Soomer as WorldSSP kicks off with Aragon FP1

Friday, 28 August 2020 10:36 GMT

The Italian rookie was as dominant as ever but there was a different name leading the charge to reclaim the leading position…

The FIM Supersport World Championship was back in action at the MotorLand Aragon venue near Alcañiz and again, it was Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) who continued his domination by topping the FP1 session by over 0.6s. The rookie Italian is aiming to become the first rider in history to win six races on the bounce and he has started well on day one.

Locatelli was able to set consistently fast lap times as he dials himself in for the weekend ahead. His nearest challenger was Estonian Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing), who was ahead of teammate and home hero Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing), both again aiming for another strong showing. Viñales was just 0.002s clear of Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA), with the Frenchman going in search of trying to stay within reach of Andrea Locatelli’s Championship lead. Fifth belonged to Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), the first non-Yamaha in the overalls.

Completing the top six was 2019 podium-finisher at Aragon Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), whilst WorldSSP300 race winner from Aragon last year Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) was a strong seventh. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was languishing in eighth and 1.6s off of Locatelli’s top time, whereas Hikari Okubo (Dynavolt Honda) returned to action with ninth and Corentin Perolari (GMT94 YAMAHA) was only tenth; Britain’s Danny Webb (WRP Wepol Racing) was eleventh.

Top six after WorldSSP FP1, full results here!

  1. Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’54.588
  2. Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) +0.561s
  3. Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) +0.641s
  4. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.643s
  5. Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.932s
  6. Rafaelle de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) +1.045s

Can it get any closer? Follow all of the action across the Prosecco DOC Aragon Round in style with the WorldSBK VideoPass!