Five in a row: Locatelli secures fifth consecutive WorldSSP pole position

Saturday, 5 September 2020 10:20 GMT

Andrea Locatelli continues his record-breaking season with another pole position as he broke the MotorLand Aragon lap record

FIM Supersport World Championship has a familiar face on pole position as Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) claimed pole position for the Pirelli Teruel Round by one tenth of a second in the Tissot Superpole session at MotorLand Aragon as he continues his record-breaking season.

Locatelli set three laps that were good enough to top the session with his third lap, a 1’53.003s, breaking the lap record he had previously set at the Aragon Round just last week. It meant he topped the session by 0.119s ahead of Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) in second and Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) securing his best starting position in WorldSSP with third.

Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) Will start from fourth place after continuing to show strong pace at MotorLand Aragon, ahead of Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) and teammate Philipp Oettl; the German rider crashing at Turn 10 as he looked to move up the order in the closing stages of the session.

Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) will start seventh with Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) in eighth place; equalling his best starting position of 2020. Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing) will complete the third row with Hungarian Peter Sebestyen (OXXO Yamaha Team Toth) in the top ten; Sebestyen continuing to show impressive form in recent rounds.

Lachlan Epis (MPM Routz Racing Team) was the highest placed WorldSSP Challenge rider in 15th place, just ahead ofAlejandro Carranza Ruiz (EMPERADOR Racing Team). Galang Hendra Pratama (bLU cRU WorldSSP by MS Racing) finished the Tissot Superpole session strongly; bouncing back from a difficult day on Friday as the Indonesian rider qualified in 17th place.

The top six following Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1.) Andrea Locatelli (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’53.003s

2.) Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.119s

3.) Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) +0.210s

4.) Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) +0.494s

5.) Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.932s

6.) Philipp Oettl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +1.183s

You can follow more WorldSSP action throughout the Teruel Round with the WorldSBK VideoPass!