Buis claims first WorldSSP300 pole with lap record pace

Saturday, 29 August 2020 10:55 GMT

Three riders within a tenth of a second as WorldSSP300 action hots up at MotorLand Aragon

Pole position in FIM Supersport 300 World Championship was secured with a last-lap effort from Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) as he secured pole position in Tissot Superpole by less than a tenth of a second as he beat the lap record for qualifying at MotorLand Aragon for the Prosecco DOC Aragon Round.

Buis will line up from pole position after his last-ditch effort to claim first place on the grid as he beat fellow Dutchman and MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT teammate Koen Meuffels as the team made it a 1-2 start at Aragon. Ton Kawakami (Yamaha MS Racing) completes the front row; Kawakami had been leading the timesheets until the last moment when Buis and Meuffels got ahead of him.

It had looked two Brazilians would line up at the front of the grid as Meikon Kawakami (Team Brasil AD 78) had been in second place, just behind brother Ton, but they will line up in third and fourth. Meikon Kawakami will be joined on the second row by Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) and 2020 race winner Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing).

Seventh and eighth are taken by Prodina Ircos Team WorldSSP300 duo Thomas Brianti and Mika Perez as they secured a third row starting position with Tom Bercot (ProGP Racing) claiming a starting position in the top ten. Championship leader Scott Deroue (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) will line up tenth.

Tom Booth-Amos (RT Motorsports by SKM – Kawasaki), who has three podium finishes so far in 2020, will start from the fourth row as he looks to claim another podium finish. 2018 Champion Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) will line up in 14th place as she looks to close the 13-point gap currently between herself and Deroue. Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Motoxracing Yamaha WSSP300) will start in 18th place as the top two in the Championship line up alongside each other; looking to fight their way through the field; the Turkish rider having a lap time deleted for exceeding track limits.

The top six after Tissot Superpole, full results here:

1.) Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT)

2.) Koen Meuffels (MTM Kawasaki MOTOPORT) +0.077

3.) Ton Kawakami (Yamaha MS Racing) +0.097

4.) Meikon Kawakami (Team Brasil AD 78) +0.578

5.) Bruno Ieraci (Kawasaki GP Project) +0.699

6.) Unai Orradre (Yamaha MS Racing) +0.846

You can follow more exciting WorldSSP300 action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!