Steeman comes from Group B to take WorldSSP300 pole!

Saturday, 8 June 2019 11:28 GMT

Steaming through the order, the Dutch rider head 2017 champion Garcia and host of other Jerez race favourites!

Dutchman Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team) took the WorldSSP300 pole position with a stunning Tissot Superpole. Coming from Group B, the 18-year-old set a new lap record on his way to the top, with an exciting double-header weekend in prospect for the WorldSSP300 class.

Having achieved pole from Group B, Steeman becomes the first rider since the new Tissot Superpole format was introduced to take pole position from Group B. The lap time sees him with over three tenths of a second advantage ahead of racing action. 19-year-old Marc Garcia (DS Junior Team), who took the WorldSSP300 title at Jerez in 2017 by just a single point, will look to start his season properly from second on the grid. In third position, Indonesian rider Galang Hendra Pratama (Semakin Di Depan Biblion Motoxracing).

Championship leader Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) was only able to finish fourth but still is right in the mix to continue his 100% winning start to 2019. Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) was on course for a front row start before traffic got in her way, so the reigning champion will start from fifth. Andy Verdoïa (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) completes the second row.

 Omar Bonoli (Team Trasimeno Yamaha) will fight in the races from seventh position on the grid, with the Italian joined by Mateo Pedeneau (Team MHP Racing-Patrick Pons) in eighth and Koen Meufells in ninth. Completing the top ten is Hugo De Cancellis (Team Trasimeno Yamaha).

Watch two action-packed WorldSSP300 races from Jerez with the WorldSBK VideoPass!

Top six combined after Tissot Superpole, for full results, click here!

  1. Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM Junior Team) 1’52.199
  2. Marc Garcia (DS Junior Team) 1’52.570 +0.371
  3. Galang Hendra Pratama (Semakin Di Depan Biblion Motoxracing) 1’52.724 +0.525
  4. Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) 1’52.756 +0.557
  5. Ana Carrasco (Kawasaki Provec WorldSSP300) 1’52.794 +0.595
  6. Andy Verdoïa (BCD Yamaha MS Racing) 1’53.530 +1.331