UPDATE: Krummenacher on WorldSSP pole after Caricasulo penalty

Saturday, 8 June 2019 10:22 GMT

Once again, it was the BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team that who cracked the WorldSSP grid, with the chasing pack left in their wake!

18:40 CET UDDATE: Due to not acknowledging yellow flags, Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) will start second on the grid, with teammate Randy Krummenacher starting on pole.

Continuing the dominance on from Friday, the BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team duo of Federico Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher remained at the top of the timesheets after World Supersport Tissot Superpole. Caricasulo took pole position with his final flying lap, whilst Krummenacher crashed at Turn 1, in a session that was peppered with fast crashes as track temperatures increased.

The WorldSSP Tissot Superpole session saw Federico Caricasulo take a sixth career pole position, his first since this season’s opening round at Phillip Island. The Italian took pole with a new lap record too, at a circuit he won at from pole in 2017. Can he achieve it again on Sunday? Teammate Krummenacher came second in the session but crashed immediately after his fast lap, up at Turn 1. Just under two tenths of a second split the battling Yamaha teammates ahead of their race tomorrow. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) took a tumble on the exit of Turn 2 but remained third, to complete the front row.

Fourth place sees Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse) take another strong grid position, as he will look to fight for his first WorldSSP win from row two. Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing) took fifth place, as the Austrian consolidates his front running pace, albeit nearly a second from Caricasulo’s blistering pole time. Completing the second row is Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) who, like his teammate, suffered a slow crash in the session, at Turn 6. He was OK and got back out to improve his time.

Kawasaki seemed to have found something at Jerez, as Ayrton Badovini (Team Pedercini Racing) heads up row three in seventh place, with championship challenger Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA) only managing eighth position, after suffering a fast crash at the penultimate corner. Ninth position went to Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) as he was top Spaniard at home, whilst Peter Sebestyen (CIA Landlord Insurance Honda) took top Honda honours on his way to a career best WorldSSP qualifying position.

Watch the WorldSSP race unfold on Sunday with the rest of the Acerbis Spanish Round action with the WorldSBK VideoPass!

Top six after Tissot Superpole, full results here!

  1. Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’41.775 +0.189
  2. Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’41.965
  3. Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 1’42.349 +0.763
  4. Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse) 1’42.502 +0.916
  5. Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing) 1’42.509 +0.923
  6. Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) 1’42.932 +1.346