Final floodlit race of 2015 won by Haslam

Sunday, 18 October 2015 19:40 GMT

Last lap decides the final podium of the season.

The final WorldSBK race of 2015 was won on the final lap after another race long fight by Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils), who took his 2nd win of the year ahead of Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team) who secured 2nd overall in the final standings and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team). The winning margin was 0.110s and meant it was a double win for Aprilia in the season finale.

Michael van der Mark completed his debut WorldSBK with another strong showing, the Dutchman finishing 4th after running in the leading group for the first 12 laps before losing a little in the closing stages.

Sylvain Guintoli finished 5th on his last race for the Pata Honda. The 2014 champ ended the day’s second 17 lap encounter a fraction of a second ahead of Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing) who took a season’s best 6th.

7th was Randy de Puniet (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) who equalled his best result, while 8th to 10th went to Niccolo Canepa (Althea Racing), David Salom (Team Pedercini), and Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia).

11th to 15th, and the final point scorers in race 2 were Christophe Ponsson (Team Pedercini), Gianluca Vizziello (Grillini SBK Team), Gabor Rizmayor (BMW Team Toth), Imre Toth (BMW Team Toth) and Alex Phillis who scored his first WorldSBK championship point.

Xavi Fores ( Racing – Ducati SBK Team) did not compete in race 2 after withdrawing through illness while Alex Lowes retired his Voltcom Crescent Suzuki at the end of the opening lap. Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was able to start race 2 but also failed to finish for the second time today.

Jonathan Rea’s hopes of setting a new points record ended on lap 6 as his KRT machine suffered a technical problem.

The 2015 WorldSBK is now over but don’t worry, WorldSBK 2016 is just around the corner – keep up to date with all of the off season news at and via the official championship Twitter feed: @WorldSBK