Cluzel converts Pole to victory in Misano WSS race

Sunday, 22 June 2014 10:15 GMT

Lights to flag win for the MV Agusta rider

As expected following a close qualifying session today’s World Supersport race was action packed from start to finish with multiple position changes at the front throughout the 19 lap encounter.

Pole Position setter Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) led from the start and immediately began stretching a lead of over the chasing group of riders that included Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki), Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport Team), Raffaele De Rosa (CIA Insurance Honda) and PJ Jacobsen (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres).

With Cluzel almost two seconds clear De Rosa crashed out of contention on lap 4 leaving Jacobsen, van der Mark and Sofuoglu to battle for the second and third places on the podium.

With five laps to go championship leader van der Mark had reduced the gap to Cluzel to under a second setting up another tense final few laps between the pair.

At the flag Cluzel took the victory, his second of the year by 1.5s from championship leader van der Mark with PJ Jacobsen taking 3rd and his maiden world championship podium.

Former champion Kenan Sofuoglu finished fourth with Roberto Tamburini (San Carlo Puccetti Racing) and Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) completing the top six.