Essentials for Sunday at Buriram: Sunday Stats Pack!

Saturday, 16 March 2019 12:58 GMT

Want to know the last time a rider started the season with four wins for Ducati, or how many race-starts Leon Camier has had? Find out here!

Everything you need to know for Sunday can be found right here! From pole positions to race wins, biggest winning margins and race starts, this is the ultimate Sunday Stats Pack, to help you keep up with the action!

  1. In the Tissot Superpole, Alvaro Bautista (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) became the 66th polesitter in the Championship's history. He is the first Spaniard with a pole in Superpole since Carlos Checa, back in 2013 in Phillip Island. He is the fourth polesitter for Spain after Carlos Checa (10 poles), Ruben Xaus and Fonsi Nieto (1).
  2. He also becomes the first rider with four wins in the first four races of the season since 2017 (Rea: his string stopped at 5); the first to do it on a Ducati since 2003 (Neil Hodgson: a string of 9 in the first 9 races, stopped with a 2nd place at Oschersleben after a collision with race winner, James Toseland).
  3. For the fourth straight race, Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) finished second to the same winner, Bautista. This is not the first time it has happened in WorldSBK history: the last time had been in the first four races of 2003, when the Fila Ducati Team posted four consecutive 1-2s with Neil Hodgson as the winner and Ruben Xaus as the runner-up.
  4. In the Tissot Superpole, Rea recorded his 34th second place start, that’s the double of his pole positions.
  5. In the Sunday’s races, Rea is out to maintain his incredible winning pace since he joined Kawasaki. At the moment, in this timespan, he never went for six straight races without winning: the count now is four.
  6. Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team) recorded his 12th podium in WorldSBK, matching at the 40th all-time spot Gregorio Lavilla and Chris Walker. Buriram is the first track in which he records a third podium.
  7. Despite crashing early in Race 1, Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) keeps his record of having scored points in all his Buriram Races.
  8. Race 1 was Davies’ 180th WorldSBK start, and the Superpole race will be his 130th race for Ducati.
  9. Michael Van der Mark (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team) recorded his 19th straight race in the points on Saturday. He started his string in Donington, Race 1, last year.
  10. Sunday’s Superpole Race will be Leon Camier’s (Moriwaki Althea HONDA Team) 210th WorldSBK start.

You can get the WorldSBK VideoPass to see what other records will be shattered throughout the remainder of the Pirelli Thai Round!