Pirelli Aragon Round Sunday Guide

Saturday, 14 April 2018 14:38 GMT

Find out all the facts and stats ahead of Race Two at MotorLand Aragon

P1 in the championship – Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK)

56th career win for Jonathan Rea, edging closer to the all-time best wins of Fogarty (59): this was his 115th podium placement; his next one will take him at the second all-time spot, level with Noriyuki Haga. At the top of the standings Troy Corser (130 podium finishes). 111th win for Kawasaki: their total podium placements is now 352, 40 from second-placed Honda (392) and 520 from the stellar all-time value of Ducati (872). Rea kept his record of having finished every race run for Kawasaki at Aragon on the podium (7 out of 7). After Race 1, Kawasaki edges Ducati for Aragon wins: 5 to 4.

P2 in the championship – Marco Melandi ( Racing – Ducati)

Marco Melandri was able to keep second spot in the standings after a fourth place in Race 1: the Italian has stood on the podium this year only in the opening weekend at Phillip Island, twice as the winner. In qualifying, Melandri recorded his third career pole: two of them came here in Aragon, and all of them on Spanish soil. His maiden pole was set here, back in 2011, the second last year in Jerez. This was the second Ducati pole in Aragon after the one set by Davies last year. Melandri broke a string of 12 consecutive British poles at Aragon.

P3 in the championship – Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati)

For the first time in his career, Chaz Davies records a ninth podium finish on a given track. In Race 2 he will try to become the ninth rider in history with at least 10 podiums on a single track (the others are: Troy Bayliss, Troy Corser, Colin Edwards, Carl Fogarty, Noriyuki Haga, Jonathan Rea, Aaron Slight, Tom Sykes). For the first time since 2015, Race 1, Davies wasn’t able to lead at Aragon.

P4 in the championship – Xavi Fores (BARNI Racing Team)

Xavi Fores recorded his fourth career podium in Race 1, his third in the last four races. He led three laps and looked like he could become the first Spanish winner since Jordi Torres, back in Losail, 2015, Race 1. That would have been a major achievement, not only because Fores is looking for his maiden win, but also because a Spanish win on a Spanish track has been recorded only once so far, by Ruben Xaus in Valencia, back in 2007 (Race 1). The last Spaniard on the podium in Spain was Jordi Torres, second in Jerez, 2015, Race 2.

P5 in the championship – Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team)

For the third time in the last four races, the Yamaha riders were 5th and 7th at the flag. The exception is Race 2 in Buriram, where van der Mark finished second and Alex Lowes third.

P6 in the championship – Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldBK Team)

Van Der Mark finished for the third time straight fifth in Aragon after his two fifths last year. This is his best result here.

P7 in the championship – Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK)

Tom Sykes recorded his fourth straight race outside the podium in Race 1: quite an uncommon string for him, as his previous drought came no less than six years ago, when he was outside the rostrum for six straight races in Miller, Misano and this same track, Aragon. In the 141 races he ran from Brno 2012 to Phillip Island 2018, he wasn’t off the podium for more than three straight races. Sykes is set for his 240th race on Sunday, his 210th for Kawasaki.

Follow all the WorldSBK action at MotorLand Aragon from the Pirelli Aragon Round with the WorldSBK VideoPass.