Old acquaintances and young talents in the new season of STK1000

Wednesday, 14 March 2018 13:00 GMT

The new season welcomes changes to the grid

With the 2018 season of European Superstock 1000 Championship about to start, the 19 riders who will fight for the title of the new season of the STK1000 have been announced and are well known in the racing world. With the goal of the title in front of them, neither the current champion – Michael Ruben Rinaldi ( Racing – Junior Team) or the runner-up Toprak Razgatlioglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) will be there to battle on track after making the leap to WorldSBK. Rinaldi will move with the junior team Team in the European rounds, while Razgatlioglu has already made his debut in the Yamaha Finance Australian Round on the ZX-10RR.

Despite losing last years protagonists, the STK1000 category will have many experienced riders ready to battle for the title. Among them, Italian’s Roberto Tamburini and Luca Salvadori, who this season will share the box in the Berclaz Racing Team SA. Another one of the riders with more experience in the category is Florian Marino, will try to securre the title with his new team, the URBIS Yamaha Motoxracing STK Team. After recovering from the various fractures in his right leg and his pelvis, as a result of a big crash at Assen 2016, last season the French rider remained in contention for the title until the final Round, and took third position overall in the championship.

Markus Reiterberger (alpha Racing-Van Zon-BMW) will also rejoin the grid along with Riccardo Russo (C.M. Racing A.S.D) who will make his return to STK1000. The German rider competed in the 2011 and 2012 seasons, as well as making some appearances in some races on the 2013 and 2017 calendar, will reappear with the slpha Racing-Van Zon-BMW team. And the Italian rider, who made appearances in 2015 and was a regular rider in the 2016 season of STK1000, will be in the ranks of C.M Racing A.S.D.

The new season will feature two new motorcycling promises, the first one being young Gabriele Ruiu will debut with the Pedercini Racing Team. The Italian rider participated last season in some of the races on the STK1000 calendar and although he did not score, he gained experience that will help him to face his new adventure. Ali Efe Yegin, will be another of the newcomers. The Turkish rider, who has the support of five time World Supersport Kenan Sofuoglu, and the 25 year old will debut with the Nutec - Benjan - Kawasaki team.

Xavier Pinsach will be the only Spaniard who will participate in the STK1000 championship this season, as the 21-year-old will face his second year in the category with ETG Racing. The Chilean Maximilian Scheib, integrated into the ranks of the Aprilia Racing Team, will be the only representative of South America that will be part on the grid.

Relive the impressive races of the European Superstock 1000 Championship and don’t miss a thing in the opening round of the championship at Motorland Aragón, with the WorldSBK VideoPass.