2018 competitors announced for WorldSSP

Wednesday, 13 December 2017 09:04 GMT

30 riders make up the Provisional Permanent Entry List of the World Supersport class

The eagerly awaited 2018 season of the FIM Supersport World Championship will have 30 riders according to the provisional list of entrants that are made public this week. The new campaign, which will begin on February 23 at Phillip Island, combines all the illustrious and established names of the category with outstanding news and emerging figures.

Lucas Mahias will defend his 2017 victory, partnering again with the Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team GRT, together with Federico Caricasulo as a boxing partner. Kenan Sofuoglu will look for the sixth crown that narrowly escaped the veteran rider last year. As always, Sofuoglu rides with the Kawasaki Puccetti Racing team, alongside Japanese competitor Hikari Okubo. The Turkish rider will once again be on the WorldSSP grid with strong rivals such as Jules Cluzel and his former teammate Randy Krummenacher, who returns to the category with the Bardhal Evan Bros WorldSSP Team.

Two pilots who raced in WorldSBK in 2017, the Italians Raffaele de Rosa and Ayrton Badovini, will form a new duo in the partnership between Team Vamag and MV Agusta Reparto Corse. Other highlights are the debut of 2008 125cc World Champion Mike Di Meglio, who will run with the French team GMT94, and Italian Alfonso Coppola, who will contest the FIM Europe Supersport Cup after winning second place in the World Championship Supersport 300.

To see the complete list of entries, click here.