10 things to note ahead of Race Two at Misano World Circuit

Saturday, 7 July 2018 14:33 GMT

Take a look at some of the best facts for day three

  1. Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) took his 63rd victory in Race One. This was Rea’s 63rd win, which equals the number of wins of his greatest rivals in the current field; Tom Sykes (34) and Chaz Davies (29).
  2. This was the 78th podium placement for Ducati in Misano, improving on their all-time record for a single track.
  3. Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) secured fourth position in the race today, and he made it four manufacturers in the first four positions in Race 1 for the third consecutive race. This occurred because in both Laguna Seca races Kawasaki, Ducati, Aprilia and Yamaha were represented in the top four.
  4. The 7th day of the 7th month of the year was a fitting scenario for Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK), to become the first ever man with seven pole positions at a given track. The previous record of six, was set for the first time by Troy Corser here in Misano from 1998 to 2010.
  5. Race One was the first time Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) hasn’t finished a race in 2018, and it was the fourth time he crashed out of the race here.
  6. Thanks to Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee Aprilia) this was also the first back to back podium for Aprilia since 2015’s final weekend in Qatar. Torres was the winner in Race 1 and Haslam in Race 2.
  7. Despite 345 points being Rea’s lowest score at the 17th round in the last four years, he is enjoying his second largest lead (80 points) behind the 129 points advantage he had at this same point of the season in 2015 over his team-mate Tom Sykes. The largest lead ever recorded at the 17th round is 142 points: Neil Hodgson over team-mate Ruben Xaus in 2003.
  8. Davies is looking for his second double score in Misano on Sunday: the only time he scored twice here so far has been 2015 (3rd and 4th).
  9. With Rea’s win in Race 1, Kawasaki equalled Honda at the second all-time spot for wins, 119. Ducati leads at 341.
  10. Eugene Laverty recorded his 35th podium in Race 1, but most of all he was on the podium in consecutive races for the first time since 2013-2014, when he recorded a string of 10, starting from the second Nurburgring Race, 2013 up to the first 2014 Race in Phillip Island.

Follow all the sensational action from WorldSBK at 13.00LT from the Pirelli Riviera Di Rimini Round, all with the WorldSBK VideoPass.