2017 WorldSBK Entry Lists

Thursday, 22 December 2016 14:02 GMT

Provisional line ups for 2017 announced

The MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship Provisional Permanent Entry List for 2017 has been released as anticipation continues to build ahead of what is set to be an explosive 2017 season.

There will be 21 riders competing in the WorldSBK class next season, as the battle for the title begins at Phillip Island in February. Reigning Champion Jonathan Rea will run with the number 1 plate for the second year in a row, as we see new faces and numbers ready to bring a fresh fight to the class.

With eight new riders set to be lining up on the grid next season, there is to set to be some big changes for 2017 and the return of some riders will send some fans back in time. Kawasaki Racing team will continue to be the ones to beat, however following a stunning end to the 2016 season, Chaz Davies and the Racing – Ducati squad will be a force to be reckoned with. With the return of Marco Melandri ( Racing – Ducati) and Eugene Laverty (Miwaukee Aprilia) to the series in which they have been so successful in the past, we are sure to see some tight battles on track. Former Moto2™ World Champion and MotoGP™ rider Stefan Bradl joins the series with Honda World Superbike Team, as Leandro Mercardo (IODARacing Project) and Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) make the step up to the top class of the Championship. On top of the exciting new rider line up, the series new Race 2 grid rules will provide even more unpredictable and thrilling racing action.

To view the full entry list, click here