The 26th edition of the eni FIM Superbike World Championship was one to remember. Seven riders made it to the top step of the podium, with 2013 World Superbike Champion Tom Sykes and runner-up Eugene Laverty who secured nine race wins each on the way to a spectacular season finale, that awarded Sykes with his first title and Kawasaki with an historical championship victory after 20 years. The combined effort of factory Aprilia riders Laverty and Guintoli allowed the Italian brand to clinch the manufacturers’ title for the second consecutive year. The Frenchman won the opening race at Phillip Island and led the standings in the first half of the season, eventually losing ground later on and finishing third. Both Marco Melandri and Chaz Davies scored three wins for the official BMW squad, but could not keep themselves in contention for the ultimate reward.

The season marked also the retirement of 2011 Champion Carlos Checa, who decided to call it quits after one final year with Ducati. The Spanish rider is the fourth Superbike World Champion to put an end to his racing career in the last two years, after Toseland, Corser and Biaggi.